Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

GoRoGo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you remove an enemy group not adjacent to your placement? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Luis Bolaños Mures
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
blankblankblankcoffeesugar
blankblankblankblankcorn
blankblankblankblankblank
blankOblankblankblank
blankblankblankblankblank

coffees are black stones.
sugars are white stones.
corns are neutral stones.

White just placed the white stone in the top right corner. If Black now plays at O, is the white stone removed?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roland Johansson
Sweden
Angered, Göteborg
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
that is a good question, I noticed a similar thing

I would guess white is captured, but probably still a valid move since it's not a suicide move when played
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luis Bolaños Mures
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Capturing at a distance seems weird and kind of defeats the purpose of considering neutral stones alternatively black and white instead of completely neutral walls.

I think the intended rule must be "after a placement, remove all adjacent enemy groups without liberties, considering neutral stones as friendly stones".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mitsuo Yamamoto
Japan
Tokyo
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
A white piece on the corner will be captured automatically at next black turn regardless next black piece will be placed a distance or adjacent place.

Neutral pieces change their color at the players turn. This white piece placement on the corner is kind of suicide take but in some occasion it is available. If black player has no legal take, he loses the game immediately. He can avoid defeat of game. It is effective sometime when he obtains more pieces.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luis Bolaños Mures
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hemming wrote:
A white piece on the corner will be captured automatically at next black turn regardless next black piece will be placed a distance or adjacent place.

I see, thanks. I think you should mention this in the rules for clarity.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mitsuo Yamamoto
Japan
Tokyo
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
luigi87 wrote:
hemming wrote:
A white piece on the corner will be captured automatically at next black turn regardless next black piece will be placed a distance or adjacent place.

I see, thanks. I think you should mention this in the rules for clarity.


Thanks! I added description below.
>Capturing will occur automatically at next black turn regardless next black piece will be placed a distance or adjacent place.

Mitsuo.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.