Subject: Read the Training Manual second...... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Wikiro Trio
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm wondering if I should throw the training manual out or not. It only tells you how to do the physical actions of the game without context. The Read This First label on the cover is absolutely wrong. Read colonization first until you reach the modules then read the training manual not the other way around. It doesn't have the terminology in it. Also the blue discs and beads are the same thing. In semi rant mode but trying to be helpful so my apologies.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis Schwarz
Germany
Siegen
NRW
flag msg tools
GLOOOOOOOOOOOOOMHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAVEN!!!!!!!!!!!
badge
maybe on the losing side. Still not convinced it was the wrong one....
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the advice - I am new to High Frontier and though I have read a bit about it and about how to play, this was about 1,5 years ago and was about the second edition.

Since I am still awaiting my KS-copy, I will be able to honour your advice when learning to play the game. I guess I will first try it solo to wrap my head around it, before trying to explain it to others...or would you suggest another approach?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dom Rougier
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
High Frontier is not really that complicated.

The challenge is that it bombards you with options from the start, and asks you to make (very!) long-term decisions well before you're equipped to deal with them.

The decision space is extremely complex (the good kind of complexity), but that, combined with the open-ended sandbox, can make it a little rough to teach.

I would certainly play through most of a game solo to learn the rules.

The top-down view of the basic game (and actually any version of the game without Futures) is that the game progress through three distinct phases, each shorter than the last.