Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

18CLE» Forums » Rules

Subject: Stations & Stops rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Takacs

San Clemente
California
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
4.3.1 - Routes Selecting sub-step
A route must include at least two stations or stops. A route can include any number of stops, but may only include a number of stations equal to the current train level. Example: a 3 train may have five stops on its route, but may not have more than three stations. Normally a train must start and stop at a station unless the only route available is between a station and a stop. A route must include at least one station (with the Corporation's token) and one station or stop.


A station is defined as a city containing the corporation token. A stop is every other city (minor or major).

In the example above, a 3-train may have five stops. Five is just a random number chosen. I assume the 3-train can only count three cities for the route value (choose the largest total value). "stations" is somewhat confusing per the station definition (corp token location).

Please help clarify. Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard McGuire
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
Stations are white circles that may contain corporate station tokens, while stops are black circles that may not contain corporate station tokens. The train level is the number printed on the train card. This number represents the number of white circles (stations) that the train may run to. There can be any number of black circle (stops) on the route.

Five was arbitrarily chosen as a value greater than three which was the train value in the example to illustrate that a three-train could run to more than three stops legally but may only score a maximum of three stations.

It is also important that trains must run from station to station if possible. For example there is a route from Bedford to Akron that contains a single stop. The ABC corporation owns 2 two-trains. On the second operating round the ABC places track to connect to Akron and chooses to place an ABC station token in Akron. The ABC would not be legally permitted to run one two-train from Akron to the stop and a second two-train from Bedford to the same stop, since trains must run from station to station and may only end a route at a stop if it is the only legal route possible.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Takacs

San Clemente
California
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Are stops also counted as revenue? I don't think so.

4.3.1 Example: a 3 train may have five stops, but may only include a number of stations equal to the current train level. So the route revenue in the example is only the 3 stations and not the other 2 stops.

If what I have said above is true, the example in 4.3.2 could be expanded to include stops that are not counted as revenue.

Two routes to the same ending stop are not allowed per your answer. This is good to understand.

May stations be "skipped, passed-through, visited" without counting them as revenue in order to obtain a better station?



Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard McGuire
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
There is no reason to skip stops, since they do not count toward how far a train can travel. The goal is to generate the maximum amount of revenue possible. My example from above illustrates that it is illegal to terminate a route at a stop if track exists such that the route could terminate at a station.

Stations may never be skipped over to extend a route above a trains maximum limit.

With strategic placement of station tokens, a corporation can run more routes to higher value stations and choose not to run routes to the lower value stations.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Takacs

San Clemente
California
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Skipping stops to me means that they are not counted as revenue.

Thus stops are not counted as revenue unless there are no other stations en route available. Please confirm or refute.

Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard McGuire
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
Yes, by skipping stops I mean that you would not count them for revenue. There is never a reason to skip stops, so stops always generate revenue. Stops do not determine how far a train may run its route. The value on the train card is the number of stations that the train may run to. When building a track network you want to include as many stops as possible, such that you generate the maximum amount of revenue possible.

Example: The CSC's home station is located in Berea (Hex K-10), near the Southwest portion of the game board. During Phase 2 each corporation may place two yellow tiles per operation. The president of the CSC decides that they want to build toward Akron. During the CSC's first operation a Station tile is placed on hex K-10 and a gentle curved tile is placed on hex K-12 pointing toward Middleburgh Heights. The CSC chooses to only purchase a single two-train. Assuming the first three-train has not been purchased before the CSC's second operation; the president of the CSC chooses to place a straight stop on hex L-13 pointing toward North Royalton. For the second yellow tile placement: a gentle curve stop on hex M-14 pointing toward Broadview Heights. For the train operation step of the CSC's second operation the train starts at the CSC's home station and travels to hex M-14 scoring $20 for hex K-10 plus $10 for hex L-13 plus $10 for hex M-14 for a total of $40. This route is legal since it is the only available route.

If the president of the CSC chose to build on hex L-9 with a straight track tile connecting to the off board Mansfield location then a single two-train would be forced to run from Berea to Mansfield. Note that red off-board locations with arrows count as stations. If the CSC's president had purchased 2 two-trains in its first operation and built hex L-9 in place of hex M-14 then they would be able to run a two-train from Berea to Mansfield and the other two train from Berea to Middleburgh Heights. This is legal since all other track in the CSC's network has been used and the only available route for the second two-train is from a station (Berea) to a stop (Middleburgh Heights).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
8-bit Matt
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To use a specific example, can CSC in this situation run one 2T from home to offboard, and another from its home to the second token AND the stop beyond it? Or are "trailing" stops not allowed--i.e. must stop at station if possible?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard McGuire
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
Trailing stops are not allowed.

For your example:
If the CSC had three 2-trains it would be able to run one from Strongsville to Mansfield, another from Strongsville to Berea and a third from Berea to the stop. Stops may can only be used as a terminus if no other track is available to run the train on. In this case a train can run from a single station to as many stops on the line that are available.

Another example would be that the CSC was set up as shown in the example above and possessed one 2-train and one 3-train. In this case one of the trains would run from Strogsville to Mansfield and the other train (even if it is the 3-train) would run from Strongsville to Berea.

Note that the artwork illustrated in the example above shows the CPE token art and not the CSC token art.

1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Westerman
United States
Lafayette
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmb
Your second example is not very clear from the rules. From the rules it could be argued that the 3-train runs Mansfield-Strongville-Berea and then the 2-train is forced to run from Berea to the stop.

Granted the way you are running the trains produces more revenue -- $140 -- versus my way -- $130 so the point is moot. However IMO, you need to write the rules in such as way as to be perfectly clear as to what routes are possible.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard McGuire
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
Yes you could run the 3-train as Berea-Strongsville-Mansfield and this would force the 2-train to run from the Berea station and terminate it's run at a stop.

Any player would then have the right to argue that the President of the CSC did not operate the trains for maximum revenue. As in my example above; this increases the total revenue generated compared to your example.

The President of a corporation is not required to run for maximum revenue unless another player contests the way the trains are being run is not optimal and can demonstrate a better way to operate them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.