Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Valley of the Kings» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rebuilding the pyramid rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Graham Bullock
United Kingdom
Wallasey
Merseyside
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Could you please clarify:
When the pyramid is rebuilt-on page 7 section 3 the rebuild comes after you have discarded so when buying cards as described on page 8 do you rebuild after every puchase? If you don't rebuild then in theory you could buy the whole pyramid.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Jones
United States
Wilsonville
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You crumble after every purchase. (see page six.)
You rebuild at the end of each turn.

In theory, you could buy the whole pyramid in one turn if you had enough cash or take actions. This would be, at most, six cards (exempting a special case resulting from a card in Last Rites).

I'm not understanding how you think the rules between pages 7 and 8 would allow you to buy more than this. Rebuilding can only happen after you have discarded all of your cards, including those in play. If you have discarded everything, you have no money with which to buy. (Crumble and rebuild are not the same thing, which is my only guess as to a possible source of confusion.)

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Bullock
United Kingdom
Wallasey
Merseyside
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for your quick response.It is clear now-I thought that you had to rebuild following every crumble so your reply has clarified the position. Thanks once again.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In between multiple buys, being able to "take" and "sacrifice" cards in the pyramid, it's possible to have very few cards in the pyramid at the end of your turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Bullock
United Kingdom
Wallasey
Merseyside
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Cheers - thanks for your response
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.