Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Doug Poskitt
Portugal
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello everyone

I am trusting this is the correct place to post this.

Having been in the gaming hobby since the early 1980's I have had all manner of amazing gaming experiences through the years. Initially, all my gaming was done face-to-face with two or more players.

As I got older and the demands of work (I was a teacher) saw me with less people and less time to play games, I did a lot of my gaming via Vassal and was fortunate to encounter some great gamers here on BGG.

Now, having taken early retirtement, I find myself much more isolated geographically than in my younger days and the opportunity to play with face-to-face opponents is much, much reduced.

Being retired, I have had the time to investigate the gaming hobby in a much broader manner than was the case in my younger years. Until the first decade of this century, I played mostly wargames, but since then I have come to appreciate the vast range of games that have been published over the last 10-12 years and am having a blast playing many of them (well, those that can be played solo).

Relatively recently, I tried out "The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game" and I absolutely love it! Granted, I am still a "newbie" but it has been fun learning and playing it. Intrigued, I looked into "Star Wars: The Card Game" and "Android: Netrunner" which from what I can see are extremely interesting also.

While it is possible to play SW:LCG using the excellent solo rules developed by Jay K (JK777) here on BGG, it also looks a lot of fun to play face-to-face. Moreover, from what I can see so far, it is not really feasible to play A:NR solo. (There may be good solo variants for this game, but I haven't found any).

Looking around, there seems to be OCTGN and jinteki.net as options for online play using a web-browser, though I must admit to feeling a tad intimidated by the technical side of that route.