Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about unusual attacks and buffs (possible spoilers) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Herr
United States
flag msg tools
We had a situation come up that we were unsure if we played correctly. I think we did do it right but wanted to check.

The less spoiler example of what happened using just starting classes and level x cards would be this:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
If a brute had used Wall of Doom to add 1 to all of his attacks this round and then a mindthief used Possession to make the brute attack for 6 would the attack be buffed to 7?


Our exact situation using the
Spoiler (click to reveal)
and
classes would be:

Spoiler (click to reveal)
The doomstalker had the Rain of Arrows doom on a target and the soothsinger used Call to Action on him allowing him to attack for 4 targeting the doomed enemy. Would the attack be buffed to 6?


We played that the damage would get buffed. Is that right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Laurin
Australia
Perth
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Looking at the opening class cards, it sounds like the attack would get buffed.

The wording on the BR card: "Add +1 Attack to all your Attacks this round."
The wording on the MT card: "One adjacent ally may perform Attack 6"

As long as the BR card is played first then the BR is performing an attack while the buff is still active (same round), so the attack would receive the buff.

For completeness, if the buff had stated "all your Attacks this turn" or "this action" then it wouldn't apply to the attack triggered from someone else's turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Herr
United States
flag msg tools
Thanks for confirming what we thought. It was kinda extra fun because we didn't think about doing it on purpose. We were just playing and then were like "wait don't I get extra damage because of this other thing?" So it seemed like we kinda broke the game a little.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Laurin
Australia
Perth
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yay for emergent gameplay!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Burigo
Italy
Belluno
flag msg tools
designer
badge
“Don't try the paranormal until you know what's normal.” - Granny Weatherwax
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
About the other question.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Yes, the Doomstalker's attack granted by the Soothsinger's Call to Action would get the +2, provided he is attacking the doomed target.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.