Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

One Deck Dungeon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Are heroic dice one time use? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Trevor Menagh
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Are the heroic dice you get as an encounter bonus and skills like the warrior's frenzy one time use, or do you get to use them in every encounter?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian M
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't have the rules handy, but I'm certain they are one-time use dice, otherwise for the most part you'd get them right away and just keep them all game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Williams
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Original rules (1.0) page 18 states,

"Finally the Level Card indicates how many free heroic dice you gain in every encounter. The party chooses which hero rolls the bonus heroic dice each time."

The 1.5 rules say, "...heroic dice you gain in every encounter and boss fight round."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Jansson
Sweden
Trollhättan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Heroic Dice from the Heroic Feats (Former Skills) are one time bonuses to an encounter.

Heroic Dice from the party Level Card are permanent upgrades to the party.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daily Grind
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Argenfarkle wrote:
Original rules (1.0) page 18 states,

"Finally the Level Card indicates how many free heroic dice you gain in every encounter. The party chooses which hero rolls the bonus heroic dice each time."

The 1.5 rules say, "...heroic dice you gain in every encounter and boss fight round."

That's correct for the Heroic die gained by the Level Up, but the OP was asking about ones gained via Heroic Feat. The Warrior's Fenzy (for example) is single use.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michel Velleman
Canada
Gatineau
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But every time you loose a health, the heroic dice comes back, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Amy (Other Amy)
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
For the warrior, yes. Each class earns heroic dice differently.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
kos blaat
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmb
The trouble with ODD is with the designer. In every version he refuses to actually define game terms.
The manual, 1.5, does not actually say what store means and what use means.
To use a heroic die is to use it up.
To be able to use heroic feat, is to have the top skill below the portrait.
The manual would benefit from an alphabetic order of all game terms on the last page.
There is a monster that gives you 1 damage before the encounter. To encounter is to flip the card, so if you choose flee, you still get 1 damage. But when you decide to fight it on a later turn, do you get another damage?
So what is an encounter?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daily Grind
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kosterix wrote:
The manual, 1.5, does not actually say what store means and what use means.


Store is defined on page 14: "Feats for the Warrior, Mage, and Paladin store heroic dice based on various conditions. These dice are placed on the hero card until spent."

Using skills is defined on page 9. If you mean he needs to literally define the word 'use', I think you're reaching. Does he need to define the word 'dice' or 'card' too? This isn't a fantasy flight LCG where keywords are extremely specific and have timing considerations.

kosterix wrote:
So what is an encounter?

Clearly outlined on page 27-28, flipping the card is the 'enter a room' phase which is followed by the 'encounter' phase which is either a combat encounter or a peril encounter.

kosterix wrote:
There is a monster that gives you 1 damage before the encounter. To encounter is to flip the card, so if you choose flee, you still get 1 damage. But when you decide to fight it on a later turn, do you get another damage?


Fleeing takes place before the encounter: from the rules: "You may choose to flee immediately, ending the turn and ignoring the encounter entirely"

Then, in the encounter phase on page 28: "Before the Encounter: Certain dungeon and combat foe special abilities come into effect now."

So flee doens't give damage, if you go back, you will get the damage as the first stage of the encounter phase.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.