Recommend
57 
 Thumb up
 Hide
163 Posts
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »  [7] | 

Anachrony» Forums » Rules

Subject: Official FAQ and errata rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Inman
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
With blessing from the project designer, I've created this official FAQ.

Errata
Resource/Worker Limits (p.2)
This has been updated in the second printing: "In the unlikely case the general supply runs out of Water or a Resource/Worker type, use a suitable substitute for that resource/worker. The resources and workers are unlimited."

Clean up Phase (p. 11)
Unused powered suits should not be removed until step 6D (Next Era), after the check for game end. This allows unused exosuits to be used to fulfill the outstanding exosuit warp tile during the "Untangle the Continuum" end game step.

Chronobot (p. 25)
The cost to remove an anomaly for the chronobot is 2 T/U/G and 2W or 1N and 2W as displayed on the board. The rule book is incorrect. (The priority order is T>G>U>N)

Building 113 (p.27)
This should read "Any Worker, spend x T/U/G (minimum 1). Set focus to a Timeline tile up to x Eras before the current Era's tile. Receive x VPs. You may use labs 401 and/or 402 to set focus further back than x, but you still only receive x VPs."

Frequently Asked Questions
General
1. May I still take free actions after I have passed?
A. No. Once you have passed you may no longer take actions for that era. However, you may take any number of free actions on your final turn before passing. For example, you could use Shepherd Caratacus's free action to remove a paradox for 2W and then pass.

2. What happens when a resource is unavailable from the supply?
A. As noted on page 2: "In the unlikely case the general supply runs out of Water or a Resource/Worker type, consider it unavailable until the general supply is replenished. If an unavailable Resource or Worker would have to be placed in the Recruit or Mine pool, leave its spot empty instead." This has been updated in the second printing: "In the unlikely case the general supply runs out of Water or a Resource/Worker type, use a suitable substitute for that resource/worker. The resources and workers are unlimited."

Paths
1. How is the starting breakthrough determined for the Path of Progress?
A. Randomly roll the breakthrough dice at start up to determine the breakthrough. If a ? is rolled, then reroll the die.

2a. On Harmony B-Side, when you get 3 paradoxes, you can remove a building instead of taking an anomaly. Do I get to retrieve a warp tile if I remove a building instead of taking an anomaly?
A. No. You only get to retrieve a warp tile when you get an anomaly, not when you choose to remove a building instead.
2b. What happens if I chose to remove a building that has a worker on it (This could happen if you receive a 3rd paradox from building 414, or some other effect during phase 5)?
A. Place the building and worker off your board until the end of phase 5. During retrieve workers during phase 6, return the worker to the appropriate column and place the building on the bottom of the primary stack of the corresponding type.

Paradox Rolls
1. Do removed warp tiles during the paradox phase affect who rolls for each tile?
A. No. You should determine the number of rolls for each player at the beginning of the phase. A player will stop rolling if they receive enough paradoxes for an anomaly. After all players have rolled for paradoxes, players who receive anomalies remove warp tiles in turn order.

2. When gaining an anomaly, do I have to remove a warp tile?
A. No, removing a warp tile is optional. You may want to try to pay it back using focus later and receiving the time travel points.

Timeline
1. Is the Impact Tile a Timeline Tile?
A. The Impact Tile does not count as a timeline tile. It does not have a superproject above it, nor does it count as an era when setting focus.

2. Can I stack my time travel ranges, i.e. use a power plant with range two and a power plant with range 1 to go back 3 eras?
A. No, time travel range is always counted from the present era.

3. Can I build a superproject in the present after setting focus in the past?
A. No. You may only build the superproject that is currently in focus for you.

4. How do I get my focus back to the present after using a power plant?
A. Once you use a power plant to set focus, you cannot return focus to the present during that era. At the end of the era, all path markers are returned to the current era and then advanced to the following era.

5. If I already have focus in the past, can I set focus to the same era in the past?
A. Yes, time travel range is counted from the current era. You may use a power plant to set focus to the same past era (if, for example, you wanted to pay back another warp tile).

6. Can I build a superproject when I use a power plant?
A. Not in the same action. The power plant sets your focus. In a subsequent turn you may take a construct action and build the superproject in focus.

7. How is the current round tracked?
A. The current round is tracked using the superprojects. The second face up superproject from the right represents the current round, except in the final era.

8. If I warp in a worker on the parallel timeline spot on the alternate timelines, do I pay 1W or 2W? What if I don't have 2W?
A. You must pay 2W. If you only have one water, you may only warp in one worker, and the bonus is wasted. You may used warped in water to pay this cost.

9. Can I pay back two warp tiles when setting focus?
A. No, you may only clear one warp tile per time-travel action.

10a. Can I use a Power Plant to pay and remove a warp tile from the present?
A. No, You can never set Focus to the present.
10b. What if it's the beginning of the turn and my focus is still in the present?
A. Still no. You can only pay when you set the focus, and as we said, you can't set Focus to present.
10c. But can I use "retrieve warp" abilities (anomaly, Power Plant 111, Lab 407, or Continuum Stabilizer SP) to remove from the present?
A. Yes, but remember that doesn't advance the time travel track.

Exosuits
1. After impact, can an Exosuit obtained in the Warp Phase be placed on an unavailable hex on your player board?
A. Yes (see page 10). Unavailable hexes only restrict your ability to power up suits during Phase 3. Any exosuits obtained in later phases may be placed on unavailable hex spaces.

2) After impact, for Building 403, the super project Uranium Cores, or the Deserted Carrier adventure reward, can the obtained Exosuit be placed on an unavailable hex on your player board?
A. Yes. Unavailable hexes only restrict your ability to power up suits during Phase 3. Any exosuits obtained in later phases may be placed on unavailable hex spaces.

Trade with Nomads
1. Can I mix and match materials for the 2 T/U/G part of the trade wheel?
A. Yes.

2. When using an admin, can I take two different types of trade actions?
A. Yes

Buildings
1. Can building 114 be used to payback two warp tiles on the same timeline?
A. Yes, this building allows you to set focus twice, paying back a warp tile, if you choose, with each action. This power plant's range is only three. For example, in era 5, you can send back a total of 2 things to eras 2, 3, or 4, including two into the same era.

2. Does building 114 count as 3 or 6 towards the sum of time travel ranges end game condition?
A. It counts as 3.

3. How do buildings 401 and 402 contribute towards the sum of time travel ranges end game condition?
A. They count as 1 and 2, respectively.

4. What does building 405 do?
A. This building provides an additional slot for paradoxes that you receive, allowing you to receive 1 more paradox before receiving an anomaly.

5. Do I advance my morale token when using building 408?
A. No, you only move your workers.

6. When I construct building 111, can I remove a warp tile from the current era?
A. Yes.

7a. Can I use labs 401 and/or 402 with building 113 to set my focus without spending resources?
A. No, you must spend at least one resource minimum on building 113 (see errata).
7b. If I spend 1 resource on building 113 and use building 402 to set my focus back three eras, do I get 1VP or 3VP?
A. You only get 1 VP. The range extension of the labs only allows you to set focus to a later era than x, not to gain additional VPs.

8. Do the abilities of life supports 311 and 312 stack?
A. Yes. If you build both buildings then you can cut your supply costs in half (rounded up) twice. Supply costs from 5 to 8 would become 2 and costs 4 or below would become 1 with both buildings.

Superprojects
1. Do I pay the asset cost and/or breakthrough cost when building a superproject?
A. Both.

2a. Do superprojects count towards the base conditions that require 3 of a building type?
A. No. You must build three of that building type.
2b. How about Harmony-B base evacuation condition of 6 building slots covered?
A. Yes, Superprojects would count for covering two slots towards this base evacuation condition.

3. How does Archive of the Eras scoring work?
A. Each step on the track is +1VP. For example, on the A side of each board, this would increase the VP rewards to 3-6-9-12-15-18-21-24.

4a. For Dark Matter Converter, can the worker come from my tired column?
A. Yes
4b. Does a genius created by the Dark Matter Converter go to the tired or active column?
A. Active column, regardless of whether the worker came from the tired or active column.

5. What actions benefit from the discount of the Grand Reservoir?
A. Grand Reservoir applies to your total action cost in a single turn. If you take free action(s) (such as Shepherd Caratacus) and a worker action in a single round, you only receive 1 water discount total. It does apply to Librarian Cornella's ability when taking a research action. Grand Reservoir does not apply to any trading such as Trade with Nomads, Building 215, or Captain Wolfe, or abilities outside Phase 5 (like warping workers, Zaida, Samira)

6. If a Path of Progress Player (B-Side) uses the Quantum Chameleon to copy a power plant, factory, or lab, does the genius return motivated?
A. Only if the player is copying their own power plant, factory or lab. If the player copies another player's building, their genius would follow the retrieval rules of that particular building and will not benefit from the Path of Progress retrieval ability.

7. If I use the Quantum Chameleon to use another player's building, can he still use it? Can I use a building that has already been used?
A. Yes and yes. Quantum Chameleon simply copies the building action as if you had that same tile on your board.

8. What is the benefit of the Exocrawler Superproject?
A. The benefit is that it is a free action. To use this superproject, you place an exosuit with a worker as a free action, and then it is still your turn. You may then place another worker, essentially receiving a double turn.

9. Can I get a neutronium with the Tectonic Drill?
A. No, you may only get an additional titanium, uranium, or gold from the supply when taking a Mine action.

10. Can Superprojects be turned sideways and put on multiple rows?
A. No. They must be put on a single row in the leftmost spot on your player board. You may choose the row to place the Superproject if two rows are tied. Exception: Dominance B Side allows you to place a Superproject on any two empty slots in the same row.

11. When I build a superproject, are the breakthrough tiles discarded from the game or put back into the tile pool?
A. They are returned to the tile pool.

Leader Abilities
1. Can Treasure Hunter Samira get a neutronium with her ability?
A. No, she may only get a titanium, uranium, or gold.

2. Does Patron Valerian's action allow me to place two exosuits in one turn?
A. No, the free action of Valerian effectively provides a free, one-time use scientist for use in a previously powered-up Exosuit to be used on the main board as your action for the turn. Proceeding to use the empty Exosuit (with the "free scientist") is your Action for the turn.

Impact
1. Is the Impact Tile a Timeline Tile?
A. The Impact Tile does not count as a timeline tile. It does not have a superproject above it, nor does it count as an era when setting focus.

2. Can I take any more actions after I do the evacuation action?
A. Yes. The evacuation action may be only taken once, but the game continues. You are only evacuating people from the capital to your path city, not leaving Earth.

3. How many times may I take the evacuation action?
A. Once per game. Your path marker signifies that you have taken the action.

4. What happens to my exosuit on the evacuation action?
A. This exosuit is returned to your supply at the end of the round like all other exosuits.

5. Do I still have to pay 1W or 2W for the bottom one/two hexes in the capital after impact?
A. No, the water costs are covered up by the collapsing capital tiles.

6. Is there any way to take a construct action after the collapsing capital tiles have been flipped?
A. Yes, you may still use the world council spaces to take any standard capital action once the respective Capital Action has no free Hex spots left. You can use the world council spaces to do the standard actions, even if the "destroyed" markers have been flipped.

Evacuation Conditions
1. Do geniuses count towards my evacuation condition if I require scientists, admins, or engineers?
A. No, geniuses may only be used as any kind of worker when place on action spaces.

2. Can a superproject be used to satisfy the base conditions that require 3 of a building type?
A. No. You must build three of that building type.

3. Do superprojects count towards the Harmony-B Evacuation Condition "Nature's Resurgence"?
A. Superprojects (and anomalies) count towards fulfilling the base condition of the Harmony-B evacuation, which requires the player to have at least 6 building spots occupied in order to evacuate. However, only buildings (neither superprojects nor anomalies) count towards the additional reward of Building and Administrator pairs.

End Game
1. How is it possible to pay back unused exosuits when untangling the continuum when these exosuits are removed before end game check?
A. Please refer to the Errata about the Clean up Phase. The written rules do state that unused power suits should be removed in phase 6A, but this has been moved to phase 6D to allow players to fulfill the outstanding exosuit warp tile during the "Untangle the Continuum" end game step.

2. How does each building contribute to the time travel range end game condition?
A. Buildings 101, 112, 113, 401 = 1
Buildings 102, 103, 104, 108, 402 = 2
Buildings 105, 106, 107, 109, 111, 114, 115, Temporal Tourism SP = 3
Building 110 = 4

3. Do anomalies and superprojects count towards the most occupied building spots?
A. Yes.

Doomsday Module
1. If Earth is saved, do we still untangle the continuum?
A. Yes, proceed to end game phase as normal, including untangling the continuum.

Pioneers of New Earth Module
1. Do breakthrough tokens on my exosuit count towards the breakthrough+scientist evacuation condition or towards the breakthrough end game condition?
A. No, these breakthroughs are considered spent. They do not count towards evacuation or end game scoring.

2. If I receive additional actions from an adventure's rewards (Data Archives, Secret Tunnels, Hostile Nomads, Ice-bound Cryochamber, Adrenaline Shots, Rogue AI), do I use additional workers and exosuits?
A. No. When you take an additional action as a result of any Adventure, you take it with the Worker you sent on that Adventure - you don't need to send another Exosuit/Worker, or occupy that Action's space. Worker restrictions do apply for these actions. For example, an admin or engineer cannot perform the research actions of Data Archives or Rogue AI, and a scientist would not be able to recruit with the rewards from Ice-bound Cryochamber.

3. For Adrenaline shots (reward = Receive 3W, take up to 2 more adventure actions) - do you need to use exosuits/workers and pay for the actions? Or do you take up to two more adventure actions with the same suit and use whatever your existing bonus/penalty is when take the two actions?
A. You use the same worker and exosuit to take the adventure actions. Your power value is equal to your power value for the initial adventure. For each adventure you must pay the appropriate water cost for that deck (1W for 5+ and 2W for 10+), select an adventure and roll the power die.

Chronobot
1. Do I receive an extra water as a starting bonus since I'm second player?
A. Yes.

2. What does the chronobot do when it takes the Supply/Recruit action and it is already at the end of its morale track?
A. If the chronobot has at least 7W, it takes 2W and 1 VP (since it can't advance the morale track). If it has less than 7W, then it takes a recruit action. If unable to recruit, it takes 2W and 1VP. (Harder Variant: If the chronobot has 7W, it pays 7W to supply and receives 2VP).

3. What does the chronobot do if it rolls a construct action and both spots are taken?
A. The chronobot will go to the left World Council action, if available, take starting player, and take a construct action. If unavailable, it will go to the right World Council spot and take a construct action. If both are unavailable, it will take 2W and 1VP.

Last updated 10/12/2017
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian P
United States
Chino Hills
California
flag msg tools
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
This looks great, thanks for compiling it! There's only one change I'd make...

rinmanrunner wrote:

Errata
[...]
Building 113 (p.27)
This should read "Any Worker, spend x T/U/G. Set focus to a Timeline tile up to x Eras before the current Era's tile. Receive x VPs.



I believe David's preferred errata is this:
113: Any Worker, spend x T/U/G: Set Focus to a Timeline tile up to x Eras before the current Era’s tile. Receive 1 VP per Era traveled.

That way, it doesn't have to function differently than the other Power Plants (as they all let you travel "up to" their range).

Source:
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/25248137#25248137

-Brian
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexa Elvrayen

California
msg tools
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
rinmanrunner wrote:
Frequency Asked Questions
Paradox Rolls
1. When are warp tiles removed during the paradox phase?
A. Warp tiles are removed after all rolls for paradoxes are completed. Tiles should be removed in player order.

This is incorrect. Well, technically. You check all eras and determine how many rolls each player makes immediately - not one at a time. Thus when a player gains an anomaly, they ignore any remaining roles they had and remove a tile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Tuzzi
Italy
Milan
Lombardy
flag msg tools
mbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
Alexa_Elvrayen wrote:
rinmanrunner wrote:
Frequency Asked Questions
Paradox Rolls
1. When are warp tiles removed during the paradox phase?
A. Warp tiles are removed after all rolls for paradoxes are completed. Tiles should be removed in player order.

This is incorrect. Well, technically. You check all eras and determine how many rolls each player makes immediately - not one at a time. Thus when a player gains an anomaly, they ignore any remaining roles they had and remove a tile.

Yes, it is technically incorrect, but it's easier and less confusing this way. By game rules, you determine how many rolls each player would do at the beginning of phase 2, and those rolls will be unaffected by players retrieving warp tiles due to anomalies they may gain. By postponing the warp tiles retrieval, you can always look at the timeline to recall how many dice any remaining player has to roll yet.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Tuzzi
Italy
Milan
Lombardy
flag msg tools
mbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
Anyway, I just wanted to thank Ryan for putting together a great Unofficial Errata/FAQs.
I wanted to make one myself, but as I said in other threads, this is the worst period of the year, speaking of work.
I have so little time to come here and write a couple of posts; never had the chance to sit and pull out a well laid-out Errata/FAQs thread.

Thank you, much appreciated.
I think you nailed the most important aspects of Anachrony that were causing most confusion.

I'll print this out and keep it inside the rulebook
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Oakley
United States
Brandon
Mississippi
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
Great work!

One thing I noticed was the Grand Reservoir ruling on leader abilities...according to this post, the discount should apply to Shepherd Caratacus' ability as well as Cornella's.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Inman
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
Thanks for the great feedback, everyone! I've made edits to the Building 113 errata, grand reservoir, and paradox roll sections based on your suggestions. Please keep them coming. I plan to add a section for specific questions on the Pioneers of New Earth adventures when I have more time.

In honor of Marco, I made sure to put the Impact tile question in there twice

David, I do have a question I'd like to add to the FAQ regarding the interaction of Quantum Chameleon and the Path of Progress B Side. As Path of Progress B side, if I copy the ability of a yellow, gray, or red building with Quantum Chameleon, do I get my genius back motivated? I assume yes, except in the case of building 415, in which case she would die upon retrieval.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Turczi
United Kingdom
London
England
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
rinmanrunner wrote:
Thanks for the great feedback, everyone! I've made edits to the Building 113 errata, grand reservoir, and paradox roll sections based on your suggestions. Please keep them coming. I plan to add a section for specific questions on the Pioneers of New Earth adventures when I have more time.

David, I do have a question I'd like to add to the FAQ regarding the interaction of Quantum Chameleon and the Path of Progress B Side. As Path of Progress B side, if I copy the ability of a yellow, gray, or red building with Quantum Chameleon, do I get my genius back motivated? I assume yes, except in the case of building 415, in which case she would die upon retrieval.


Hmm. Strange one. QC says "follow retrieval rules of the one being copied", right? Well in that case I can argue that if PP-B copies a non-blue, then he doesn't get the dude back (what if the SP is in the blue row?), but if someone else copies PP-B's non-blue building, they DO get it back!!
Remind me (rulebook not with me) does PP-B retrieve normally work on Superprojects in y/g/r row?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Turczi
United Kingdom
London
England
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
Quote:
4. What actions benefit from the discount of the Grand Reservoir?
A. Grand Reservoir applies to your total action cost in a single turn. If you take free action(s) (such as Shepherd Caractus) and a worker action in a single round, you only receive 1 water discount total. It does apply to Librarian Cornella's ability when taking a research action. Grand Reservoir does not apply to any trading such as Trade with Nomads, Building 215, or Captain Wolfe.

... or abilities outside the Phase 5 (like warping workers, Zaida, Samira)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Inman
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
Here are the relevant rule segments:

Quantum Chameleon: Genius: Choose and take a Worker
Action of any Superproject or building built by any player.
The cost of the Action must be paid accordingly, and
retrieve rules of the chosen Action apply to your Worker
as well.

Path of Progress
Other: When you use Scientists to take Worker Actions
on your Power Plants, Factories and Labs, they are kept
Motivated. You need one additional Paradox to gain an
Anomaly. The first three steps on the Time Travel track are
worth 1/2/4 VPs each.

I guess it comes down to the words "you" and "your" in the Path of Progress description.
- The word "you" restricts the benefit to only the Path of Progress player. So someone copying a Path of Progress building with QC should not receive motivation benefit (unless already part of the building).
- The word "your" restricts the benefit to only Path of Progress buildings. In my mind, the question is when you copy a building is it treated as "your" building? My guess is no.

Of course, this is all a strict reading of the English rules.

In any case, I now see that it is possible to copy the abilities of one of your own buildings with this SP and use one of your buildings twice in a turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Turczi
United Kingdom
London
England
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
Ok here is my ruling based on reading those rules closely:
PP players have the genius on QC motivated (beyond the usual reasons) if they're copying one of their own power plants, factories, or labs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Tuzzi
Italy
Milan
Lombardy
flag msg tools
mbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
TDaver wrote:
Ok here is my ruling based on reading those rules closely:
PP players have the genius on QC motivated (beyond the usual reasons) if they're copying one of their own power plants, factories, or labs.


Well, we actually have a double question here:
A) what happens if Progress player has Quantum Chameleon and uses it to copy the action from one of his/her buildings and
B) what happens if another player has QC and copies one of the actions from Progress buildings.

In case A, I agree with David: since the bonus applies to workers used on Progress buildings, the bonus applies aswell if the building is not directly used but just copied using QC.

But case B is more interesting: does QC make your worker act as if it was placed on that building (or superproject) or does it simply copies that action but doesn't gain the benefit from Progress B-side? What if I copied a building that has the "motivated retrieval" printed directly on it? The genius used on the QC to copy that building's action would stay motivated when retrieved? In this case, does the "stay motivated" bonus on non-blue buildings (and SPs on non-blue rows) act as if each building/SP had the "stay motivated" icon onto itself?
Does this bonus only applies directly to the Progress player and not to any player copying the action of a building/SP on those non-blue rows? In other words, when using QC, does any "you" and "your" referring to the building I'm copying the action from apply to MY worker? Since we can always read any worker space on any building or SP like it's saying "put one of your workers here to do X", when I copy that action space with QC it's implicit that "your" worker becomes "my" worker; does this also applies to Progress B-side bonuses to workers taking actions from buildings/SPs on non-blue rows?


Since QC specifically says that retrieve rules on that action space apply to the genius used in the QC superproject, I think it all comes down to understanding if the Progress B-side retrieve bonus on non-blue rows is considered to be applied to all action spaces on buildings and SPs on those rows, or if it's just an added bonus to the progress player and the retrieve rules the QC card refers to are just those directly printed on each single action space.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Tuzzi
Italy
Milan
Lombardy
flag msg tools
mbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
rinmanrunner wrote:

In honor of Marco, I made sure to put the Impact tile question in there twice


Much appreciated laughlaugh

Oh, and I just noticed you forget to mention in the Superprojects section this one:

5. Is the Impact Tile a Timeline Tile?
A. The Impact Tile does not count as a timeline tile. It does not have a superproject above it, nor does it count as an era when setting focus.

laughlaughlaughlaughlaughlaugh
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nevin Longardner
United States
Westerville
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
rinmanrunner wrote:
Here are the relevant rule segments:

Quantum Chameleon: Genius: Choose and take a Worker
Action of any Superproject or building built by any player.
The cost of the Action must be paid accordingly, and
retrieve rules of the chosen Action apply to your Worker
as well.


The Genius is discarded as part of the action, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Inman
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
NevoGamer wrote:
The Genius is discarded as part of the action, right?


Only if it copies a building in which the worker dies upon retrieval.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Turczi
United Kingdom
London
England
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
Since the progress b side says "when You use Your .... building", I've ruled that other people copying Progress' buildings don't get the free motivation.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anna Shatalova
Russia
Moscow
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
Still don't understand Paradox Rolls...((
We are in 5th Era. Phase 2 - checking for Paradox.

Starting with 1st player we check first Era - everyone (clockwise) roll dice for this Era OR the 1st payer roll four times (for every Era) at ones?

It is very important becouse if for example second player roll for all his Eras and remove the warp tile from one of the Era so may be situation when it was he with the most warp tiles in this Era but after he took one warp with Anomaly away - now in this Era everybody has to roll a dice (including the 1st player but he already finish his rolling).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Turczi
United Kingdom
London
England
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
WiNchiK wrote:
Still don't understand Paradox Rolls...((
We are in 5th Era. Phase 2 - checking for Paradox.

Starting with 1st player we check first Era - everyone (clockwise) roll dice for this Era OR the 1st payer roll four times (for every Era) at ones?

It is very important becouse if for example second player roll for all his Eras and remove the warp tile from one of the Era so may be situation when it was he with the most warp tiles in this Era but after he took one warp with Anomaly away - now in this Era everybody has to roll a dice (including the 1st player but he already finish his rolling).


No.
It's not per player, it's not per era. You determine how many dice each player will roll, and then they roll in whatever order. And then they remove if anomaly happened.

Quote:
It is very important becouse ...
No it's not. There is nothing that can change who rolls how many times, since that has already been decided.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Tuzzi
Italy
Milan
Lombardy
flag msg tools
mbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
WiNchiK wrote:
Still don't understand Paradox Rolls...((
We are in 5th Era. Phase 2 - checking for Paradox.

Starting with 1st player we check first Era - everyone (clockwise) roll dice for this Era OR the 1st payer roll four times (for every Era) at ones?

It is very important becouse if for example second player roll for all his Eras and remove the warp tile from one of the Era so may be situation when it was he with the most warp tiles in this Era but after he took one warp with Anomaly away - now in this Era everybody has to roll a dice (including the 1st player but he already finish his rolling).


Like David said, you first determine how many rolls each player has to take according to how many warp phase tokens each player has on each era.
Say you're in era 5, like in your example, with 3 players (A, B and C).
This is the situation with warp tokens in each previous era:

Era 1. A) no tokens, B) 1 token, C) 1 token
Era 2. A) 2 tokens, B) 1 token, C) no token
Era 3. Neither player has any token
Era 4. A) no token, B) no token, C) 1 token

(A) has to roll 1 die (from era 2), (B) has 1 roll (from era 1, tied with C) and (C) has 2 rolls (from era 1 and 4).
From this point on, nothing can and will change these numbers.

You can start rolling from whichever player you like; as soon as that player fills all his/her paradox token spaces, he/she forfeits any remaining roll, discards all paradox tokens, gets an anomaly and may retrieve one of his/her warp tokens. Even doing so, those remaining players that still have to roll, will still roll the amount of dice determined at the start of this phase, disregarding any warp token that may have been retrieved by players who got an anomaly.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Turczi
United Kingdom
London
England
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
I swear I picked this resolution (instead of per era or per player) to
- avoid gaming it
- cause I thought it's simpler. But after having to explain it for the nth time, I wonder if there is something wrong with my brain
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
LCG 74160
msg tools
mbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
TDaver wrote:
You determine how many dice each player will roll, and then they roll in whatever order. And then they remove if anomaly happened.


This leaves one question: if multiple players get an anomaly, in which order do they remove their warp tile? Starting with the first player?

Even if this situation is infrequent, order does matter here...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Oakley
United States
Brandon
Mississippi
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
Several of the people I have played with had a concern about Patron Valerian's leader ability. The fact that his ability is a free action leads them to believe that they can execute one main board Action (with an empty Exosuit acting as a scientist) and then another main Action (either on the main board or on their player board).

The free action of Valerian effectively provides a free, one-time use scientist for use in a previously powered-up Exosuit to be used on the main board as your action for the turn. Proceeding to use the empty Exosuit (with the "free scientist") is your Action for the turn.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Oakley
United States
Brandon
Mississippi
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
TDaver wrote:
I swear I picked this resolution (instead of per era or per player) to
- avoid gaming it
- cause I thought it's simpler. But after having to explain it for the nth time, I wonder if there is something wrong with my brain

While I think it is quite simple as well, this is yet another reason I really like the variant: everyone gets 1 paradox for each era in which they have (or are tied for) the most warp tiles. Then, everyone simultaneously takes all of the paradox tokens they are due and finally receive anomalies if required. There is no confusion about removing warp tokens and changing who should roll for paradoxes since it all happens simultaneously.

If multiple people would receive anomalies with this variant, they do so (and remove warp tiles) in turn order.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Turczi
United Kingdom
London
England
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
lcg74160 wrote:
TDaver wrote:
You determine how many dice each player will roll, and then they roll in whatever order. And then they remove if anomaly happened.


This leaves one question: if multiple players get an anomaly, in which order do they remove their warp tile? Starting with the first player?

Even if this situation is infrequent, order does matter here...


No it doesn't. That's what Marco and I are trying to explain.

EDIT: Ah now I see what you mean, in case you want to know how the situation will change for next turn. I swear it doesn't matter, but if you insist, of course do it in turn order.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Inman
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Unofficial FAQ and errata
Base on this dialogue on paradox phase and warp tiles I will update the faq accordingly
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »  [7] | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.