Star Wars: Rebellion» Forums » Sessions

Subject: ConnCon 2017 Play Session Report rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Britt B

Connecticut
msg tools
mb
Hi all. I was the facilitator/teacher at ConnCon for two of the three sessions of Rebellion last weekend. I thought I'd do a brief session report about what I saw and what the players thought. I've never done a session report before so please forgive me if I miss anything.

Session 1: Two players, both new to the game, played first game setup without advanced rules.
Game took over 4 hours, one of my players was working very hard to make sure he was understanding each mission and assigning the best leader to it. He was playing the Rebels and was working the diplomacy leads to more units angle. No real interest in sabotage or using quick strike missions. Was definitely trying to meet the Empire head on militarily and then try and let the turn meter come to him. The Empire player used a spread out and subjugate approach trying to eliminate bases and push the Rebels toward the corners of the map. The rebels managed to take some key systems and hold out for 6 turns, but at that point the Empire had mobilized multiple directions each turn focusing most of his leaders on activation rather than missions. The missions he did complete were mainly to obtain projects and eventually he had his Death Star in orbit around one of five or six planets he was sure they were hiding on (Tatooine) and activated the super laser. He guessed correctly and the game ended.
In retrospect, I should have advised the Rebel player to not force the military issue. I like to give choices whenever possible when teaching a new game, so I said nothing but in this case I think he painted himself into a corner, as soon as the empire started subjugating every planet they checked, I should have advised him to try a sabotage mission.

Session 2: Four players, all new to the game, first game setup without advanced rules.