Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

1846: The Race for the Midwest» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Location" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Irwin Dolobowsky
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What is defined as a "Location"? Is Chicago a Location or is each spot in Chicago a seperate location?

The question came up when applying the Meat Packing Plant. Is it assigned to "Chicago" and applies no matter which route I take in, or is it applied to a specific city/spot in Chicago such that only one train gets its benefit?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JR
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Memento ferrugo
badge
Memento ferrugo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It would apply to all of the Chicago hex.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Blum
United States
Wilmington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Note that "location" is in the glossary:

Quote:
Location: a city or off-board area (with a value).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Sterphone
United States
Goleta
CA
flag msg tools
mbmb
Yep. This is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
My favorite 18xx game for six players is two games of 1846 with three players each.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The answers above are correct. However, I want to point out that if you have a token in Chicago, and Chicago is green, the Meatpacking Plant could benefit a train running from Chicago to Chicago Connections and a train running from the token out from Chicago to some other city (e.g., Detroit.)

Not uncommonly, the PRR can run 3 trains that all make use of Meatpacking in Chicago, using its Fort Wayne teleport as a starting point.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
The Meat Packing token applies to all the separate cities in the Chicago hex (for the owner of the RR buying this Private).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Irwin Dolobowsky
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks all, that's what we assumed but the question came up!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.