Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ultra Magnus
United States
Granville
OH - Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
I'm just a soldier. I can't be a leader.
mbmbmbmbmb
I love Eric Lang's game designs. And I am a total japanophile, having lived there, and studied and enjoyed Japanese culture, religion, and philosophy for many years. So this game seemed like a no-brainer for me. I happily pulled together my funds, and was ready to back it.

However, something bugged me. And it was something more than the fact that it is expensive, and with my group it would probably not get played as often as I would like. It finally hit me, that the art design turns me off.

I know quite a bit about traditional Japanese art, and there is certainly an element of the macabre present. However, the designs in this game seem to be emphasizing the grotesque to a degree too far for my taste.

This is a very personal reaction, which I do not expect many of those who backed the game to share. But I am wondering if anyone else has been turned off in this way.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Guinea
msg tools
I was all in until a couple of days ago. I then decided to cancel my pledge. With the grotesqueness of the art style it simply would not get played in my group...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave
United States
Baltimore
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Same here. Well except for the japanophile thing

I wanted (expected) to be totally in love with this game, and it turned out to be an endless list of "yes but"s. This is just one of them, but yeah I get you. It's like it wants to be Kingdom Death. But why? It's a game about diplomacy (supposedly) why are there corpses and severed heads left and right?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Big Sixer
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb