1. fighter attacks bomber and loses the attack role. How can the fighter be destroyed if bombers cannot attack fighters?
It can't. (Pg 13)
2. How do the space walls work if planets don't have a defense role?It means that an attacker going after your planet has to roll a higher number (9 or 13 instead of 6, I believe) to take it over.
Exploring is an optional rule, and thus a gamble, like many other things (such as entering an asteroid field).
3. We had back luck with the planet exploring with first 2 giving nothing to the player who did them. They now hate exploring planets
Just bad luck but maybe 25% of the time wasting 3 resource cards like this is imbalanced?
4. Can a player advance more than 1 step up the technology tree in their round if they spend enough resources?Yes, though they must still pay for each step. Save enough resources and you can go from tech 0 to tech 5 instantly (for Fun).
5. If player advanced to energy boost can they apply those immediately to their Mothership, thus changing the allocation after they moved?Sort of. You may not change the allocation energy already placed, but you may add the new energy anywhere.
6. The rock,paper, scissors, element didn't work well for our first play. 5 people and 3 ended up with only bombers so were basically powerless pretty quickly..That can happen if people are careless with fighters (and don't support them or utilize them together). Fighters alone against a Mothership doesn't work, since they can't attack hull. Fighters are mainly for use against bombers (which can't damage them back). Once out of fighters, you might as well send your bombers straight for the enemy Colony (use your Mothership as defense).
7. If I have the trade blockade card and play it in my turn then I cannot get resources either?That's how the card reads, so I believe so.
8. What timing mechanism keeps a player from trading in action cards for resources, back to action cards, back to resources, cards back to more action cards ad infinitum seeking the perfect set of cards a player wants? Nothing. Keep in mind that action cards are worth a different number of resources. In practice you may trade in a 2 resources worth of Action card and draw a 1 value card (which is much more common than 2 or 3 value cards). Eventually you'll run out. Or they might happen across one of the rarer 3 point cards, so again it's a last minute gamble. (Pg 21)