Popular Tags: SAQ [+] [View All]
Daniel Boits Jr
United States
Chesterton
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
It seems to take me a frustratingly long time to grasp a rule-set before my first play, sometimes as long as a month (I haven’t played a ‘monster’ yet, so we’ll see how long THAT takes). I tend to read and reread over and over. The more I read the more questions pop in to my mind and that leads to more research. In addition, I tend to read through study guides often found here on BGG or Consimworld. I’ll tread though forums discussing the game in question, gather up every piece of errata I can find, and, if I’m lucky, find an instructional/introductory video on Youtube.
I’m still fairly new to the wargaming, so I assume (and hope) over time the more games I play the faster I will learn the next one. I also need to work on my “SQUIRREL!” attention span. I will be focusing on one game, then another will catch my eye, then another. Before you know it, I have three or four hefty sets of rules in front of me, all getting only a percentage of attention… So many games, so little time.

So, how long does it take YOU to learn? And what are your learning strategies? How do you study? Do you read the rulebook cover to cover, or pick it apart in sections? Do you try to get an overall understanding or just jump in as soon as the counters are punched? Do you try to gather up all known errata before starting? I’m interested to hear what you do.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I look forward to seeing what others say, but I use a very different method to learn a game.

1. Read the opening material in the rule book: glossary etc.

2. Sequence of play

3. Set up the game

4. Try and move a piece and read the relevant rules as I move along...

5. Cause a battle... read the relevant rules...

6. Rinse and repeat the first turn while continuing to try and integrate the rules.