Was George Orwell an Optimist?
Abdullah Ibrahim - Water from an Ancient Well
If I choose the raft hazard and draw a -1 card do I owe one health if I choose not to draw? Basically can I go negative vs a hazard. If I need 4 for a hazard and draw 0;s and a -1 do I lose 5 health points?
Thundering Giraffe answered your questions, but you mentioned choosing not to draw so I'll point out that you don't have that choice. The rules specify that you must draw at least one fighting card before resolving a hazard.