Every L3 AND L4 carrier force (which has lost any air units) has an air value marker under the force marker to show its current air value, right?
For an L3, it will be reduced from the value printed on the force counter.
For an L4, it will be reduced from the total of the force's carrier units' air values.
I think so, but then I got very confused because of the following rule text:
CONFUSING!!! 16.3 Air Value wrote:
When a level 3 force becomes level 4, compute the difference between the air value printed on the level 3 chit and the current air value, as recorded by marker. (This difference is basically the number of losses the force has suffered.) The air value of the level 4 force — which is the sum of its carriers' air values — must be reduced by this difference, (i.e., you must deduct the losses.) Spread the losses as evenly as possible among the carriers, choosing randomly how to distribute odd points.
2. A level 3 force with printed air value 12 has current air value 8. It becomes a level 4 force with three carriers. The carriers' air values must be reduced by a total of 12-8=4. Each carrier's value is reduced by 1 and the value of one randomly chosen carrier is reduced by 2.
Note the part I put into bold italics...
That makes it sound as if you track "air value" losses on each individual carrier unit. Which seems very confusing, since you also track "damage" on each individual carrier unit... with the same kind of marker!
Later in 16.3 on that page, the rules say:
Air losses: When a strike which suffered losses lands at a level 3 or 4 force, immediately reduce the force's air value by the number of losses.
Here it makes more sense to me: I think that the force counter has an "air value" marker under it, representing the total air value for the force, with no tracking of air values of individual carriers in the force. (Right?)
So is that first quote above (about spreading air losses among carriers) just some kind of nonsense editing error?
Or are we really supposed to assign air losses to individual carriers and track them? (Thus having both an "air value" and a "damage" marker under a carrier counter, which seems obviously ambiguous since those are 2 uses of the identical same type of marker...)
If a level 2 carrier force has revealed air strength, e.g. 13, and then becomes level 3 or 4 with known specific carriers (revealed because they're damaged), e.g. a CVL and CVE with total printed air value of 10, i.e. the specific carriers total air value was less than the already "revealed air strength", does anything special happen?
Or was that (now known to be impossibly high) revealed strength just considered "fog of war" / bad intelligence / etc?