Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Too Many Bones» Forums » Rules

Subject: Thick skin and careless on same mob rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Barsanti
Canada
Ile Bizard
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmb
Wondering how these interact, the wording is different enough that it gave us pause.

Careless states the unit loses 1 life while tough skin states ignore the first damage done.

Is losing life the same thing? Would a troll rompers tough skin prevent the careless damage assuming it hadn't been hit that turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fortheloveofdice
Canada
Toronto
ON
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Losing HP and taking damage are not the same thing. So no, it would not protect itself. (Perhaps 'careless' deals something along the lines of true damage...?)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Barsanti
Canada
Ile Bizard
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmb
That's how we interpreted it as well.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Kleinfall
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Fatigue, the condition that kicks in at the 6th round of a battle, also uses the term "lose" 1 HP. This is not considered any specific type of "damage". So I think this also helps confirm that "thick skin" wouldn't apply since it only reduces "damage" by one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Grieves
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We had the same dilemma. We interpreted it the same way - damage is damage and losing a hp is losing a hp - 2 different things. (hopefully that's how it's supposed to be lol )
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Wielgus
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mrorange2414 wrote:
We had the same dilemma. We interpreted it the same way - damage is damage and losing a hp is losing a hp - 2 different things. (hopefully that's how it's supposed to be lol )


Yes, you folks all played it correctly
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.