We had our fist 4-players game tonight... it was a blast!
However, I have a question regarding an odd situation happened to our game when we flipped up the Event 3.
The event was: "Every player in turn order may add 1 (unit) to any one Region they Control".
The Human player was the first one playing: he placed his unit into a territory which he was controlling with the help of an Airfield, i.e. without any units inside. However, there was (still) a Trog War Party token there. As soon as the Human unit popped there, we flipped the Trog War Party token and added Two Trogs (and two crystals) to that region. As soon as we did that, we also placed a battle token (who couldn't be any different from #1, since we were not even into the third round action phase yet) and also a crystal (due to the upcoming battle). That triggered a lot of questions, such as:
- Who is the attacker and who is the defender? The official rules/FAQ are not very clear on that, but the general consensus here
says that whoever enters
into the territory is the attacker. If we go with that we can say that the Human unit is technically the one who did that, since the Trogs War Party was already there: however, Human has a Control token there... Could he count as the attacker in his own territory? Isn't that a bit strange?
- The rules says that no units can enter a territory with a battle token on it as soon as the movement phase that triggered the battle ends. What about this specific scenario? It occurs *before* any possible movement phase, meaning that the attacker (whoever he is) would be unable to put anything else there: it would always be 1 human vs 1-3 trogs. Is that correct?
Let alone this edge-case scenario, here are some other questions that were raised during the game:
- Can two Trogs War Party token be placed within the same region, for example by the Trogs Disappear
skill? (remove 1 Trog unit, then add 1 Troll War Party token in an occupied region).
- What happens when the Trog player flips a War Party and there are no Trog units in his reserve? Will he lose 1 unit just like the other players? I definitely think he won't, as it would make very little sense, but is this stated somewhere within the official rules? (EDIT: I've read in this thread
that the general consensus is for the logical conclusion that Trogs do not lose units here, yet it should really be addressed somewhere in the rulebook or within the FAQs).
Thanks a lot to whoever will help us to better understand this truly amazing game!