Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
40 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: THE STORY SO FAR rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Freddy Dekker
Netherlands
Friesland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

After the first mission we felt the urge to try more ships and went for a 100 point battle which was great fun.

Mission 2 with the asteroids was okay, we went with 3 ships as per rules and personally I think it needs more asteroids to hide behind and I feel you should get more cover from them than just the one extra defence die.

mission 3 with the satelites seemed like it would be to easy for the empire. Once you get them scanned, it's a quick dash for the border with two ships agains one.
Still got a bit exiting in our game, but maybe that one is better with more ships.

So now I've dug up mission 4.
I'm going by number as I expect each mission to learn us new skills.

The falcon in to action so that makes it a special game.
I'm still reading the new stuff and have been creating 100 point fleets.

I have the falcon (Solo of course) accompanied by an A wing and an x-wing Tetran.


A few things have popped up in the rules wich made me wonder.

For one thing I started to wonder about the red number on weapon cards, which sofar I can not find explained.

Like on the homing missiles it has a red 4.
Does this mean that for this weapon you throw 4 attack dice?

Also there the unique names rule.
I've read it again and now see I've missunderstood as I read it as if you can't have more unique names in your force, but now realise this is wrong.

Ah now I get it, it did seem rather confusing to have Solo fly the falcon and have him on boards as crew, but now I get it. Logical really.


Any Obvious beginner mistakes I should be aware of?
In an eargeness to play its easy to overlook the simple things.



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
the red number on weapons does indeed indicate how many attack dice it uses.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Alexander
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sagitar wrote:

Any Obvious beginner mistakes I should be aware of?

As far as common rules mistakes? Hmm.

Secondary weapons (i.e. anything added via an Upgrade card) don't get an extra red die for Range 1 or an extra green for Range 3. They are also always restricted to your standard firing arc, even on ships that can shoot their built-in guns into extra arcs (Hound's Tooth, Slave-1) or any direction (Millennium Falcon).

Each die can only be rerolled once during combat.

Spending a focus token changes all eyeball faces to successes.

Each critical damage card is 1 damage in addition to whatever its critical effect is.

It's common for new players to forget to take their actions at the right time, but that's more of a tactical mistake than a misunderstanding.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Swampy Crocker
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Anything that refers to "in arc" refers to front and rear arcs. A turret does not count as "in arc" unless it is within the ~90° firing arc.

Takes 2 ion tokens to ionized a large ship and the tokens(any and all) are removed after ionization has occurred. (So any extra ion tokens are wasted).

Green maneuvers only clear 1 stress at a time.

R2 astromech and Nien Nunb do not make ion maneuvers green (the 1 forward is white under all circumstances).

Other rules are fiddliness that occurs with more expansions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Alexander
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
SwampMonster wrote:
R2 astromech and Nien Nunb do not make ion maneuvers green (the 1 forward is white under all circumstances)


Actually, they do make the 1-straight ion move green. (FAQ 4.3.2)

The thing they don't affect is the white 2-straight that you have to do if you reveal a red move while you're stressed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Swampy Crocker
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kiteserpent wrote:
SwampMonster wrote:
R2 astromech and Nien Nunb do not make ion maneuvers green (the 1 forward is white under all circumstances)


Actually, they do make the 1-straight ion move green. (FAQ 4.3.2)

The thing they don't affect is the white 2-straight that you have to do if you reveal a red move while you're stressed.


Oh, crap. I forgot that was FAQ'd. Thank you for correcting me.

Always check the FAQ should go on the list as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Alexander
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
SwampMonster wrote:
Anything that refers to "in arc" refers to front and rear arcs. A turret does not count as "in arc" unless it is within the ~90° firing arc.


Oh, right! Good catch. That is a common one. Turrets don't have 360° firing arcs. A turret has the same arc it would have if it wasn't a turret -- it just doesn't have to stay inside the arc when picking a target.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Freddy Dekker
Netherlands
Friesland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kiteserpent wrote:
sagitar wrote:

Any Obvious beginner mistakes I should be aware of?

As far as common rules mistakes? Hmm.

Secondary weapons (i.e. anything added via an Upgrade card) don't get an extra red die for Range 1 or an extra green for Range 3.


Thanks, don't think it came up yet, but I'd totaly missed that one.



Quote:


It's common for new players to forget to take their actions at the right time, but that's more of a tactical mistake than a misunderstanding.


No kidding, if you are caught up in the action it is very easy to forget about actions and cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Freddy Dekker
Netherlands
Friesland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Angelsenior wrote:
the red number on weapons does indeed indicate how many attack dice it uses.


Bedankt.

Ik heb het regelboek door gekeken en kan en de missies, maar ik kan er nergens iets over vinden. Vraag me af waar ik het over het hoofd gezien heb.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Freddy Dekker
Netherlands
Friesland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SwampMonster wrote:
Anything that refers to "in arc" refers to front and rear arcs. A turret does not count as "in arc" unless it is within the ~90° firing arc.

Takes 2 ion tokens to ionized a large ship and the tokens(any and all) are removed after ionization has occurred. (So any extra ion tokens are wasted).

Green maneuvers only clear 1 stress at a time.

R2 astromech and Nien Nunb do not make ion maneuvers green (the 1 forward is white under all circumstances).

Other rules are fiddliness that occurs with more expansions.


We're getting into the ion stuff now with the falcon mission, so it will be interesting to find out what that does.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Freddy Dekker
Netherlands
Friesland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SwampMonster wrote:
kiteserpent wrote:
SwampMonster wrote:
R2 astromech and Nien Nunb do not make ion maneuvers green (the 1 forward is white under all circumstances)


Actually, they do make the 1-straight ion move green. (FAQ 4.3.2)

The thing they don't affect is the white 2-straight that you have to do if you reveal a red move while you're stressed.


Oh, crap. I forgot that was FAQ'd. Thank you for correcting me.

Always check the FAQ should go on the list as well.


Oops, not even looked at those yet.
Does it change a lot?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
thespaceinvader -
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
On average the FAQ gets a big update about once per wave, occasionally in between.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Alexander
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sagitar wrote:
Does it change a lot?


There have been very few changes to the basic rules of the game. If you're using the current main rulebook (the one from the Force Awakens starter or online, not from the original starter), the only fundamental rules changes I can recall are:

* If you reveal a red move while stressed (either because you set it by accident or because you weren't stressed when you set the maneuver but became stressed before you revealed it). Originally, it was like any other illegal move: your opponent had to change your dial to a legal move of his choice. Now, you ignore your dial and do a white 2-straight that can't be modified.

* The default effects of TL, Focus, and Evade tokens are limited to one use each per attack per player. (Mostly this means you can't spend two Evade tokens to add two evades against one shot. This rule rarely impacts you otherwise.)

Outside that, there are a few clarifications on trouble spots. How to handle rolling too many dice. How to handle assigning dials to the wrong ships. How to handle the timing of multiple effects that all occur after an attack.

There have been a considerable number of balancing errata, where specific cards have gotten new wording that makes them weaker or stronger. I shouldn't list them all here. You should browse these when you get time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Freddy Dekker
Netherlands
Friesland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kiteserpent wrote:
sagitar wrote:
Does it change a lot?


There have been very few changes to the basic rules of the game. If you're using the current main rulebook (the one from the Force Awakens starter or online, not from the original starter), the only fundamental rules changes I can recall are:


Ah I'm using the one that came in the box with the original game.
So that's wrong? Mind you works for us and we are enjoying the game.


Quote:
* If you reveal a red move while stressed (either because you set it by accident or because you weren't stressed when you set the maneuver but became stressed before you revealed it). Originally, it was like any other illegal move: your opponent had to change your dial to a legal move of his choice. Now, you ignore your dial and do a white 2-straight that can't be modified.


Hm seems like I have to look up the whole stressed thing again, as from this it seems like we're doing it wrong.


Quote:
* The default effects of TL, Focus, and Evade tokens are limited to one use each per attack per player. (Mostly this means you can't spend two Evade tokens to add two evades against one shot. This rule rarely impacts you otherwise.)


? you can have more evade tokens?

Quote:
Outside that, there are a few clarifications on trouble spots. How to handle rolling too many dice. How to handle assigning dials to the wrong ships. How to handle the timing of multiple effects that all occur after an attack.


I seem to recall that in our original rule book it mentions a maximum number of dice, allthough of course there are exceptions.


Quote:
There have been a considerable number of balancing errata, where specific cards have gotten new wording that makes them weaker or stronger. I shouldn't list them all here. You should browse these when you get time.


Seems like I really should dive into the faq, allthough on the other hand we are enjoying the game as is.
So do the changes make things better or do they mainly work for tournements/ competition stuff.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
thespaceinvader -
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
sagitar wrote:
[q="kiteserpent"]
1: Hm seems like I have to look up the whole stressed thing again, as from this it seems like we're doing it wrong.


2: ? you can have more evade tokens?

3: I seem to recall that in our original rule book it mentions a maximum number of dice, allthough of course there are exceptions.

1: What do you think you're doing wrongly? The para you quoted *only* applies to revealing a red move whilst stressed, and is a very recent change as of maybe 6 months ago; it's not in either of the printed core set rule books (yet).

2: In a wide array of ways, yes, and focus tokens. Evade tokens, e.g. from Hyperwave Comm Scanner, Cool Hand, etc. Focus tokens from Recon Specialist, etc. You can only spend each type of token once for its default effect per attack - but if you have multiple ways to spend them (e.g. Calculation, for instance) you could spend one for its default effect and one for each effect you have that spends them in another way.

3: there's no rule defining the maximum number of dice you can roll. There are rules in the book for what to do if you don't physically have enough dice to roll for your attack, though, which might be what you're thinking of.

There is also a theoretical maximum number of dice you can roll for an attack (currently 7 rolled dice, and 9 if you include dice added during the modify step) but this isn't anything in the core rules; it's just the most that any combination of pilots and upgrades in a list will currently allow.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Alexander
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sagitar wrote:
Ah :what: I'm using the one that came in the box with the original game.
So that's wrong? Mind you works for us and we are enjoying the game.


The old rules work fine. The new ones change a lot of minor rules, and a couple not-so-minor -- but even then, most of the changes had already been made in old FAQs or were existing tournament rules.

I think these are the only big ones you're missing:

Original rules: large ships barrel roll like small ones.
Current rules: large ships barrel roll using the long sides of the 1-s template, not the short ends.

Original rules: You have to play Rebels vs. Imperial. Cheaper list gets initiative. If they're tied, the Imperial player gets initiative.
Current rules: Both players can play anything. Cheaper list chooses who gets initiative. If they're tied, a random player chooses who gets initiative.

Original rules: Obstacles can't be within Range 1-2 of an edge. The Imperial player places the first one.
Current rules: Obstacles can't be within Range 1-2 of an edge or within Range 1 of another obstacle. The player with initiative places the first one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Freddy Dekker
Netherlands
Friesland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just wondered.

After all the collecting I've done, I now obviously have stacks of damage cards.


So how best to use these.
Can I simply shuffle them and play or does that upset the balance and is there a 'mix' I have to keep in mind.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Alexander
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It's important not to skew the proportions of individual cards or the Ship crit vs. Pilot crit ratio. Don't mix or alter the decks. Use one deck for each player (or each team, for team epic games). There should be 33 cards in each. You can find lists online (like here: http://xwing-miniatures.wikia.com/wiki/Critical_Hit_Cards)

The decks are slightly different between the old and new core sets. You can use either deck with any list.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Freddy Dekker
Netherlands
Friesland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Jeff.


When buying ever more models you neatly pack simular cards together in the box.
But when you start playing you suddenly wonder if you've not made a horrible mistake there.

Apparenlty I have.soblue
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Freddy Dekker
Netherlands
Friesland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kiteserpent wrote:
It's important not to skew the proportions of individual cards or the Ship crit vs. Pilot crit ratio. Don't mix or alter the decks. Use one deck for each player (or each team, for team epic games). There should be 33 cards in each. You can find lists online (like here: http://xwing-miniatures.wikia.com/wiki/Critical_Hit_Cards)

The decks are slightly different between the old and new core sets. You can use either deck with any list.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
thespaceinvader -
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
sagitar wrote:
Thanks Jeff.


When buying ever more models you neatly pack simular cards together in the box.
But when you start playing you suddenly wonder if you've not made a horrible mistake there.

Apparenlty I have.soblue

It's easy enough to split them out - the card backs are different between the two different damage decks, which does half the job.

From there, each deck should have two copies of each crit except Direct Hit which is should have 7 copies of.

The TFA deck cards are even numbered, so it shouldn't be difficult at all to split them out.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Freddy Dekker
Netherlands
Friesland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
About to do the Slave mission and in the rules there's talk of ion tokens, but sofar I have not been able to find where the ION stuff is explained.

Can anyone enlighten me?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Al Cott
United Kingdom
Gloucestershire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You should have an Ion Token Reference card somewhere. They came in many of the expansion packs.

https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/x-wing...

The only extra rule I can think of off the top of my head is that large base ships require two ion tokens.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
thespaceinvader -
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
sagitar wrote:
About to do the Slave mission and in the rules there's talk of ion tokens, but sofar I have not been able to find where the ION stuff is explained.

Can anyone enlighten me?

What is it that you don't understand?

Ion tokens are given out by a wide range of effects, mostly bombs and secondary weapons, but occasionally other sources.

When a ship has enough ion tokens (for a small ship, one, for a large ship, two), it is Ionised. Next planning phase, it does not set a manoeuvre dial. WHen it activates, it instead performs a white 1 straight move, then discards all ion tokens assigned to it.

That's all Ion tokens do. There should be a reference card or reference in the rule book with any set that uses them, however, which will explain how they work.

It's worth noting too that they work differently for Epic ships, where each ion token stops the ship gaining a point of energy when it moves IIRC, but doesn't stop them setting a dial.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Alexander
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sagitar wrote:
About to do the Slave mission and in the rules there's talk of ion tokens, but sofar I have not been able to find where the ION stuff is explained.

Can anyone enlighten me?


Ion tokens are covered in the current full rulebook, at https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/products/x-wing/ (click Support, then Rules). There's also a rulecard in every ship pack that has ion-delivering upgrades, including Slave 1 and the Y-wing.

Plus, of course, the other answers here.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.