Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
40 Posts
Prev «  1 , 2  | 

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: THE STORY SO FAR rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Freddy Dekker
Netherlands
Friesland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I do have an ion token card which explains the different effect on large ships, but I had expected an explanation of it in the rule book.

What does Ion mean, what does it do to a ship.

Ah, found it Jeff, so it basically just means that its next manouvre is one forward.

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Alexander
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The original rulebook didn't plan ahead. It covered things that the core set ships could do, and that's it. Nothing else. Ion tokens, bombs, cloaking, even boosting weren't even mentioned. These were all added one by one by separate rulecards as new ships were released.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Freddy Dekker
Netherlands
Friesland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It probably is just me not 'getting it' but with some of these cards you wonder why you would bother.

Like the heavy laser cannon.


For some reason it starts by saying [attack one ship] to me it would seem logical you attack one ship unless it says different on the card.

Then it tells you to change all of your open hit results to closed ones.
So what exactly is the point, I would imagine an open hit could be much nastier than a closed one, which is just a hit without a special effect.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rathbun
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Heavy laser cannon has a drawback (all critical hits become hits) but also an advantage (it's a reusable weapon that rolls 4 dice at range 2-3). It features prominently in some squads.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Freddy Dekker
Netherlands
Friesland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aggreed the re-usable thing is good, oft times I don't bother with rockets for just that reason and use the points for something more perminent.

Pleased that you did not explain to me how changing such a result could be good, seems like I'm starting to get the hang of it.
laugh

Some cards really make you wonder.
Some seem handy but just for a particular situation you may never find yourself in.

At times they can also be fonfusing.
In our last game we had Vader in his advanced Tie and this allows you to use two ... oh what's the word.... at the same time.

So we wondered if that means you can use two focus or two evade at the same time, or if it simply means you can just use the one focus and evade you have.

There was also one droid which made us wonder.
Never got to use it so no problem, but it allowed that ship to use on focus and repair a shield.
As I understood this it means that if you don't use your focus token, you can repair instead. Figured I might aswell ask to be sure we play things right for the next time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rathbun
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sagitar wrote:

In our last game we had Vader in his advanced Tie and this allows you to use two ... oh what's the word.... at the same time.

So we wondered if that means you can use two focus or two evade at the same time, or if it simply means you can just use the one focus and evade you have.

Vadar can do two actions, but he can't repeat an action. So yes, he could focus and evade, or evade and target lock, or barrel roll and focus... but not focus + focus. Actions are really important in the game, and the fact that Vadar is one of the few pilots that can do more than one action makes him quite powerful.

Quote:
As I understood this it means that if you don't use your focus token, you can repair instead.

That's exactly right. If you end the combat and still have a focus token, rather than losing it you can use it to regain a shield token. You can't recover more shield than you started with (meaning you can't go above and beyond the shield limit you started with at the beginning of the match) but the ability to "regenerate" is fairly useful!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Freddy Dekker
Netherlands
Friesland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We recently played the Lambda mission which actually ended quite close.

However the rule where the empire can pick up passengers at a cost of damage - if you end the move with a 3 move, it'll cost you 3 damage to pick one up- is quite off putting and impossible even for most vessels.

So we figured the solution to this would be the 0 move option of the lambda.
Move it over near a disabled ship. don't move next time, and pick up passengers for free.

However while we played it like this we did wonder if this was legal.
If the picking up of passengers counts as an action, it is not because the 0 move is a red move and so you could not prefrom any action.

So I wonder if we played it wrong and how others solved the problem.
Maybe the real solution is to saccrifice a ship with many shields and a 1 move option.
?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Alexander
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You can do it damage-free with two Lambdas if one is Captain Yorr. Generally, though, it seems you need to strategically plan how to absorb some damage during pick-up and still make it off the board.

https://www.reddit.com/r/XWingTMG/comments/22geo4/question_a...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Freddy Dekker
Netherlands
Friesland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Captain Yorr... I'll look into it.

Concerning B-wing the Keyan Farlander card made me wonder if this is not a miss print.

It says you can dump a stress token and chance focus tokens to your benefit.

Do they not mean you must take a stress token.
Sounds more logical to me...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Swampy Crocker
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sagitar wrote:
Captain Yorr... I'll look into it.

Concerning B-wing the Keyan Farlander card made me wonder if this is not a miss print.

It says you can dump a stress token and chance focus tokens to your benefit.

Do they not mean you must take a stress token.
Sounds more logical to me...


No, they mean what is printed. Keyan' s ability is incredibly good. He can shrug off stress simply by attacking - the key for him is getting to attack.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Freddy Dekker
Netherlands
Friesland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks.

We recently played the mission where you have the facilities on meteors and the prototype ship has to pick these up.

So we wondered a bit about the facilities.

When the prototype picks them up (or if the rebels scout them but don't destroy them) they get turned over and now have a defence of two.

So what happens, do you now leave them on the asteroid?

The way we looked at it, it seemed to make more sense to remove them once the prototype gained that ability.
Afterall destroying it won't take the ability away from the prototype, in our logic anyway, and so there is no point on wasting time to destroy them.

Of course your'd leave those turned over after scouting as the rebels might want to blow those up before the prototype can get to them.

But somehow I feel like we might have missunderstood how to deal with the facilities....


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Cowlishaw
msg tools
No. The 'facilities' are control stations. The prototype is supposedly an automated/enhanced fighter - it doesn't pick them up, it switches them on. Remember the mission text:

Quote:
Recon images of hidden Imperial facilities suggest the prototype still depends on short-range broadcasts from these structures.


Whichever ones it activates become more vulnerable to being attacked by reducing its defence from agility 4 to agility 2. If you waste the facility, it's no longer a face-up function token on the board, hence its ability goes away.

If you couldn't take away the effects, Cutting The Cord would be a nightmare, as a tooled up Royal Guard or Glaive could quickly become a true nightmare ship (agility 5, hull 6, primary weapon 5 TIE interceptor with every manoeuvre - including the K-turns - counting as green? Quad-tapping TIE/D defender?)



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Freddy Dekker
Netherlands
Friesland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for explaining Joseph.

While reading I could not figure out what they meant with that, but now you've explained it, it all makes sense to me.

So, how do you keep track of things.


The empire ship turns over facilities and gains that ability ( or does it have to be within a certain distance of it?)

The rebel turns them over by exploring them - as he can only destroy two with his saboteurs - so how do you know if it has been activated by the prototype or has just been left vulnerable by rebel visit.

Seems easy to remember, but I could imagine that in the heat of battle you'd lose track of things.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Cowlishaw
msg tools
The tokens start face-down (and agility 4)

"Switching them on" requires the prototype to fly up close and use a SYNCH action - which is a unique action that only exists in this mission*.

Quote:
The prototype may perform the sync action. To perform this action, the prototype chooses one facility within Range 1 and flips its function token faceup


Once switched on, the agility goes down and the prototype gets better.

Note that SYNCH is not on the prototype's action bar, so it cannot be performed as the 'free action' from Push The Limit (if you have that upgrade equipped).

Quote:
The rebel turns them over by exploring them - as he can only destroy two with his saboteurs - so how do you know if it has been activated by the prototype or has just been left vulnerable by rebel visit.


No he doesn't.

Quote:
At the start of the End phase, if the Rebel player deployed an operative this round, he may look at a function token assigned to one facility that the operative's ship overlaps. Then, he must either return the operative to the game box to destroy that facility, or return the operative to the Ship card that it was deployed from.


If you deploy an operative, you get to look at the token (pick it up, look at it, put it back down in the same state as it was). If you chose not to destroy it (say, it's the "you may not be attacked by secondary weapons" function and you have no secondary weapons in your squad), it's not left flipped over - it's still face down, you just now know which one of the abilities it is (and presumably don't care, or you'd have blown it up).



* Like PROTECT in 'Political Escort' or SCAN in 'Dark Whispers'.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Freddy Dekker
Netherlands
Friesland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Turn it back to how it was.

Okay, got it, somehow managed to missunderstand that aswell.
Seems like a mission in need of replaying.

Yet again, I'm gratefull for you clearing things up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Prev «  1 , 2  | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.