GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,111 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
21 Days Left

Support:

Jeremy Hansuvadha
United States
Orange
California
flag msg tools
mb
I'm a high school teacher and I wanted to give my students a game design project. However, before they design their own game, they need to learn more about game design.

Can anyone point me in the direction of some game design resources? I have been listening to the Ludology podcast, which is very helpful (the Red Raven Games podcast has a Game Design Tip of the Week which is also helpful, though brief). I'm hoping someone can share links to articles explaining different aspects of game design, especially an explanation of different game mechanics. I'm trying to put together a Game Design 101 type of thing.

Thank you to the community in advance for your help!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
April W
United States
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I suggest looking at some of the pinned threads in this forum as there is a lot of helpful information to be found there, though I'm sure others (who have actually designed games) will have some good tips for you.

You can also browse all of the 51 different listed mechanics here on BGG. Here's the list. Click each mechanic for a definition.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Robbins
United States
Alcoa
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Seems like you're missing the step of playing existing games.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mus Rattus
msg tools
They were written for a 5th grade project, but Mark Rosewater's articles about things every game needs seem pretty applicable to your situation.
http://magic.wizards.com/en/articles/archive/making-magic/te...

If I were you, I would not focus so much on game mechanics. Thinking about design goals and how to achieve them in a game is a more valuable lesson, in my opinion.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hilko Drude
Germany
Goettingen