GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,916 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
18 Days Left

Support:

Eric Rayl
United States
flag msg tools
Hi, I am currently searching for a compelling story to tell about tabletop gaming or board game design (for a self-produced, feature-length documentary).

I have been filming a group of board game designers for the past 16 months--following them along to conventions, watching them develop their games, and watching them overcome hurdles and find success (or failure). I have been specifically focused in on 3 individuals in this journey, but now that I am nearing the end of filming (the last guy I'm following posted his Kickstarter today, which looks like it will do well), I wonder how compelling my story is overall. I think with some clever editing, I can make a somewhat entertaining documentary, but it's not going to be *great*--not in the same way something like King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters is great.

In the King of Kong documentary there is a great story unfolding before the viewer that is carried along by the incredible characters in the film and the course(s) of action that they are taking. The audience is compelled to follow along in much the same way as a narrative work would lead the audience in a carefully crafted tale.