GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,487 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
17 Days Left

Support:

Recommend

Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » General Gaming

Subject: Chess comparisons rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joel Velez
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I recently played Star Wars: Rebellion and it felt to me like a thematic, more advanced version of Chess. Obviously the mechanics are different, there are cards and characters in Rebellion, board arrangements are different -- I acknowledge all the differences between the two. My statement focuses more on the feelings being similar; the tension and long term strategies, movement restrictions, winning conditions, etc.

My question is, can a comparison even be made? Or, is Chess only comparable to other abstracts? If you stripped Rebellion of its theme, is a comparison possible?

I am a newb to the hobby, so wondering if anyone more experienced has a similar thought.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phillip Harpring
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
The kind of comparison you're talking about can be worth making when trying to express how playing the game made you feel, but doesn't really hold up in any other way.

It's a bit like how Jiu Jitsu is often referred to as "human chess." The mind games and strategic depth of both create similar emotional reactions, but the games themselves aren't really comparable. I wouldn't tell chessmasters to go train in Jiu Jitsu.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
weesh ful
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
just because a game is old doesn't mean it is immune to comparison.

I used to (with a bit of hyperbole), tell people that "Curling is like chess on ice".