GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,813 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
22 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Fury of Dracula (third/fourth edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hide rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Belocas
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If Dracula's location is revealed and he then plays a hide card on that location is it played face down or face up?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dale Wilkins
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Any time the location the Hide card is associated with is face up so is Hide.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Frey
United States
Carrollton
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But could you play a hide card on an already revealed location?
Had a game where drac was trapped because of consecrated ground and HH, and we decided playing hide wouldn't make sense since he was already revealed.
Our rational for not allowing it thematically was where is he gonna hide, we already see him, hiding behind a trash can or something wont help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nanozawr Nanozawr
msg tools
face up
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randal Divinski
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Afrey wrote:
But could you play a hide card on an already revealed location?
Had a game where drac was trapped because of consecrated ground and HH, and we decided playing hide wouldn't make sense since he was already revealed.
Our rational for not allowing it thematically was where is he gonna hide, we already see him, hiding behind a trash can or something wont help.

In this case, Dracula can play the Hide card, but it will be face up. This is explicitly allowed in the rules.

Set aside the name of the card. It's primary ability is to allow Dracula to stay in the same city for a turn. It's a valid decision, even if his location is known, especially if his escape routes are blocked.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Merritt
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it's perfectly legal to place Hide, but a bit of a waste unless Dracula is at full health. I would think Feed would be the better choice, seeing as the Hunters know where Dracula is and will likely be coming to engage in combat.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Belocas
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And there is a difference with Hide on the trail between the Second and Third editions. In the Third edition Hide doesn't slide off the trail with it's location card like it does in the second edition. If a matured effect would have you reveal that location card that slid off the trail would you then have to reveal the Hide card that is now still on the trail?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Merritt
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
toyboy101 wrote:
And there is a difference with Hide on the trail between the Second and Third editions. In the Third edition Hide doesn't slide off the trail with it's location card like it does in the second edition. If a matured effect would have you reveal that location card that slid off the trail would you then have to reveal the Hide card that is now still on the trail?


I would say no. The rules state that whenever a hunter reveals the location card, the Hide card is revealed as well. It also says that when the associated location card slides off the trail, the encounter cards on the Hide hideout cannot be searched or used to ambush. There is no mention of revealing Hide when its associated card is removed from the trail, so I think it just sits as a red herring until it slides off the trail itself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.