GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,705 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Pandemic Legacy: Season 1» Forums » Rules

Subject: Couple of Feb. Questions (Spoilers) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Robinson
United States
Alabama
flag msg tools
We just finished Feb. and I had a couple of questions around relationships before we used them.

1) The rivals relationship says you may immediately discard any two cards . I am assuming that means that can take place during another players turn. Example rival (Researcher) flies to Hong Kong and disregards on action #1, can the other rival (Generalist) then immediately discard twice to pick up Hong Kong, which interrupts the Researcher's turn? If so, then can the Researcher perform the same action and pick up a card the Generalist discarded? Would this be considered an action for the Researcher, meaning she now has 2 actions left, or not and she still has 3 actions left?

2) The co-worker sounds super powerful for the Researcher. Does it mean the Researcher can literally share any card with the other co-worker at any given time? Does it also mean the other co-worker can take a card from the Researcher at any given time? Since the sticker mentions, Share Knowledge, I assume this uses an action?

3) We used the Researcher and Scientist in our Jan game, so making them co-workers was not possible. In your game\experience what has been a good pairing with the Researcher with the co-worker relationship?

Thanks for all input and help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyler B
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Relationship Questions (Feb Spoilers)
1. They are not actions and can be any time. In your scenario, Generalist can do it during Researcher's turn, and Researcher can do it right back. Both players will lose cards, but it's another way to exchange them. Your Researcher will still have 3 actions.

2. When you use the Share Knowledge action, the Researcher can share any card with their Co-worker from anywhere on the board. This can be on either character's turn, but still requires taking the "Share Knowledge" action. (The Researcher can still only give cards, not take, unless one character is in the same city).

3. Depends on number of players playing, which roles available, which other relationships/character upgrades taken. This question isn't really definite enough to answer... and I wouldn't like to answer it anyway for potential spoiler reasons. That said, in my two player game, we made the Medic and the Scientist Co-workers. I won't post the link because it has spoilers through April (as of 4/21/17). It can be found in the Sessions section of the message board though.

Have fun!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Theorel Masheriel
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmb
Re: Relationship Questions (Feb Spoilers)
1)Yes, yes, no. Discard 2 cards to take a card that the rival discarded any time, not an action.

2. Yes, yes, yes. Share Knowledge with co-worker researcher anywhere. Still uses an action.

3. Strategy Opinions:
Researcher isn't great for 2-player. Sharing knowledge is less important, with fewer players, you're more likely to just draw the colors you need. So, I'd not use the researcher at all personally.
Additionally, coworkers makes the researcher better at something she's already good enough at. I found co-worker researcher to be a weak role, and we replaced her with something better (rival QS). I wished that I'd used coworker to make knowledge sharing easier for someone with a better base power.

I think a coworker Medic with Scientist, or QS would be better. Makes knowledge sharing easy enough, but gives you other useful abilities to keep the whole game under control.
Note: This is just looking at the coworker power in context of February-March timeframe, not taking any changes into account which might change what characters/relationships are valuable.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dylan Thurston
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Relationship Questions (Feb Spoilers)
Can you edit the title? There's already a spoiler there.

You use "disregard" when you mean "discard", I think. And the answers above seem good.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Robinson
United States
Alabama
flag msg tools
I have updated the title.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The coworker-Researcher exemplifies one "pure" strategy when it comes to progressing characters in this game - giving characters the stickers that make them even better at what they're already good at. The strength of the strategy is pretty obvious - if you need a character who's good at treating diseases, putting Local Connections on a Medic means you're covered. The weakness is that you can only field 2-4 of these specialists, meaning that if you need to do more than 2-4 things well during a game, you're facing a struggle with the remaining things.

The opposite strategy is to create generalists - give characters stickers that let them do things that they weren't too good at before. The advantage is that you can cover the same bases with fewer characters, or double up on characters that are quite good at something. The disadvantage is that you get a lot less variation in the group's capabilities by mixing up your team composition, and no character is great at any particular thing.

I forget who exactly we made coworkers - I think we went with one character whose skills mean they want to be in specific cities at specific times (like the Medic or Quarantine Specialist, who go where the cubes are) and one who either has mobility powers (like the Dispatcher or Generalist) or is less tied to being in the right place at the right time (like the Scientist or Researcher).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clive Jones

Cambridgeshire, UK
msg tools
mb
Another thing to think about is whether a character will be needing to use their main proficiency throughout the game.

For example, the Scientist's ability to cure with one card fewer isn't much help until you have plenty of cards in play. So we gave them an unrelated upgrade to make them more useful in the early game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Robinson
United States
Alabama
flag msg tools
Thanks for all the replies. Much to think about and decide!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.