GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,437 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
14 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Versailles» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does using "Location Upgrade" constitute "taking your turn?" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Fielding
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
You must move your Activation Marker to the Location when using the Location Upgrade ability.
1. My opponent moves & activates & performs the action
2. I use my Location Upgrade ability to move my Activation Marker to the same area & perform the action.
3. Is it my turn now, or did 2. above constitute taking my turn?

If it is my turn now, then Location Upgrade is the thing that drives the whole game, because you get many more plays this way than Turns.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr Avers
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gronak wrote:
You must move your Activation Marker to the Location when using the Location Upgrade ability.

Don't remember this being stated in the rulebook. Activation markers are used to track where you moved workers to in your previous turn. Since you do not move any workers, but just take advantage of those you already have at the location, there is no need to move the marker.

Gronak wrote:
If it is my turn now, then Location Upgrade is the thing that drives the whole game, because you get many more plays this way than Turns.

Location upgrades are great, but also not the easiest to achieve. And since everything you have is open information, your opponent(s) should find ways to work around it, leaving your workers idle.

We play Versailles quite a lot as 2-player, where it would seem that the location upgrades are must haves. But in reality we find that we actively adjust our gameplay to avoid giving each other too many 'free' actions, and only see it used maybe three or four times per player. But it does make the game more puzzly and interesting For us actually the resource related upgrades are a lot more interesting. Free resources? Yes please!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Fielding
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
If it does NOT constitute taking your turn, then you can get many free turns. Not much need to move your workers either. Obviously very powerful. Wish the rules were clear on what is intended.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Fielding
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The Activation Marker marks the location of your last activation.
You cannot move a worker into the location you activated on your last turn; which normally is synonymous with the location of your Activation Marker.

Its murky.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bitchy Little Boy
Romania
Bucharest
Sector 3
flag msg tools
... I am disgusted and disappointed, but I still want to believe people can be honest and sensible.
badge
If am still here, it is only for the gold.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gronak wrote:
You must move your Activation Marker to the Location when using the Location Upgrade ability.


Where did you find this rule?

According to the rules, your Activation Marker changes location when you move your worker(s) during your turn. The Resource and Specialists Location Upgrades simply allow you to activate a location even other players reaches that place (i.e. it is his/her Activation Marker that must be on the location).


Rules wrote:
Moving Workers
On their turn, a player must move at least one of their workers from one location of the board to another.

Activation Marker
...After performing any type of movement, the player places the Activation Marker in the location they activated.

Resource Locations Upgrade
This technology provides the player with resources whenever other players are using resource providing locations.

Specialist Locations Upgrade
This technology allows the player to activate the Architects’ Guild, the Workshop and the Construction Yard whenever other players are using those locations.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Fielding
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
gmilitaru wrote:
Gronak wrote:
You must move your Activation Marker to the Location when using the Location Upgrade ability.


Where did you find this rule?

According to the rules, your Activation Marker changes location when you move your worker(s) during your turn. The Resource and Specialists Location Upgrades simply allow you to activate a location even other players reaches that place (i.e. it is his/her Activation Marker that must be on the location).



Yea it does seem so, once you chain together sentences in 2 or 3 different rules sections. But it seems awfully powerful to be able to, in effect, take extra turns.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rainer Ahlfors
United States
Provo
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Click to see this devourer's page.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is very powerful to do so. However, that level of efficiency and power is also part of a well rounded winning strategy.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.