GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,755 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monsters in different rooms/focus question. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jameson Cline
msg tools
If the party opens a door and moves away so that none of the monsters can see them through the doorway, do they still focus and come after us? Or do they stand around and wait hit us?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Cwertetschka
Germany
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Gloomhaven: Forgotten Circles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
monsters do not need line of sight to find focus.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jameson Cline
msg tools
Thanks. I appreciate it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tommy Wareing
United Kingdom
Oxford
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
However, they do need a legitimate path in order to focus. So if there's an invisible character blocking the doorway, then the monsters can't focus on that character (duh!), and can't path through them to a space from which they can attack characters in the other room, so don't focus on them either. Which then means they don't move.

Note that archers might have sufficient range to be able to shoot past the invisible obstruction. If so, then they can find focus, and move.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathue Faulkner
United States
Austin
TX
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wimble wrote:
However, they do need a legitimate path in order to focus. So if there's an invisible character blocking the doorway, then the monsters can't focus on that character (duh!), and can't path through them to a space from which they can attack characters in the other room, so don't focus on them either. Which then means they don't move.

Note that archers might have sufficient range to be able to shoot past the invisible obstruction. If so, then they can find focus, and move.

Also, Flying creatures would find focus and move without issue.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.