GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,890 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
21 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Rise of the Runelords – Base Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: Deck size limit rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Will Winters
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
Quick question, is there a limit to cards you can have in your deck? Like if you search and search and keep acquiring stuff, can you just add it all to your deck? Which would make it harder to kill you because you'd have a bunch of life...

Can someone clarify that rule?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Meltzer
United States
Dover
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
Eight ball, corner pocket
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the limit is on the back (?) of your character card, where it states the number of each card type that must be in your deck. Number of weapons, items, blessings, spells, allies, and probably some other type that is eluding me at the moment.

When you get a "card feat" as a reward, you are allowed to increase one of the values (as long as the increased value is on your card).

Does that make sense?

EDIT: Unless you mean DURING a scenario. During a scenario, you can keep acquiring new cards as long as you meet the test requirements for obtaining them. In between scenarios, you reset your deck as I explained above.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Rice
United States
LIHUE
HI
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no limit on how many cards you have in your deck, EXCEPT when rebuilding your Character Deck between games. One benefit of acquiring boons is that you increase your ability to take damage and not die.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Edmonds
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Do you need more card ideas for the D&D Adventure System games?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You rebuild your deck at the end of the scenario - win or lose. Acquiring cards during the scenario does add to your deck size(which translates to more health), but it also fills your hand with cards your character might not be able to use effectively. This is why you sometimes might avoid trying to acquire a boon.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Winters
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
Ohhh thanks this makes a lot of sense.

Thank you guys so much!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Winters
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
Autoduelist wrote:
but it also fills your hand with cards your character might not be able to use effectively. This is why you sometimes might avoid trying to acquire a boon.


One more question concerning this part, what about acquiring a boon of a certain type your character can't use? (Example: exploring a location as ezren, encounters a piece of armor, can ezren try to acquire this even though he can't use armor?

And if so, after he does acquire it, can he use it during that current scenario (assuming he would have to get rid of it at the end of the scenario when he has to rebuild his deck)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Voigt
United States
Oak Park
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes on all counts.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Winters
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
Ohhh ok thanks, this makes a lot of sense.

So valeros would be able to use a spell if he encounters and acquires it? (During that scenario)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Voigt
United States
Oak Park
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Absolutely! If Val wants to use that force missile he'll roll 3d4 for his combat check and banish it, as a random example.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Winters
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
Awesome, thank you so much!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.