GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,325 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
20 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Warfighter: The WWII Tactical Combat Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mortar Support and Screened Hostiles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Cribbs
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Sorry to ask another Mortar Support question, but I just need confirmation.

Can a Mortar Support card be used to attack a hostile that is being screened by another hostile? For example, the Bunker objective. It says other hostiles screen it. Can I use the Mortar Support card to attack it before I have taken care of the other hostiles on the objective, or do I need to kill/suppress them first before using Mortar Support on the bunker?

Same question for hostile's like Officer and Machine Gun Team? Can I Mortar Support (or even Sniper) them if other unsuppressed hostiles are currently screening them?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
The answer is 'no': https://boardgamegeek.com/article/25520196#25520196


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Cribbs
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks for the answer! My bad for not searching first, but when I searched for my earlier mortar/trenches question, I didn't remember seeing anything about mortars/screening.

Thanks again!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
No problem.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Logs
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jameycribbs wrote:
... For example, the Bunker objective. It says other hostiles screen it. Can I use the Mortar Support card to attack it before I have taken care of the other hostiles on the objective, or do I need to kill/suppress them first before using Mortar Support on the bunker?


Can you use a mortar support card on an objective structure?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David in Sydney (now in Coffs)
Australia
Coffs Harbour
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ncree wrote:
jameycribbs wrote:
... For example, the Bunker objective. It says other hostiles screen it. Can I use the Mortar Support card to attack it before I have taken care of the other hostiles on the objective, or do I need to kill/suppress them first before using Mortar Support on the bunker?


Can you use a mortar support card on an objective structure?


No

Attacks on the objective must be by soldiers - otherwise why did they go all that way when they could have just called in Artillery or Air support.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Logs
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, I thought I had seen that somewhere in the rules.

[edit: found it, pg 36]
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Cribbs
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Crap! I had some grenades left, too, but I thought it would be cool to blow up the bunker with the mortars. Oh well.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David in Sydney (now in Coffs)
Australia
Coffs Harbour
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jameycribbs wrote:
Crap! I had some grenades left, too, but I thought it would be cool to blow up the bunker with the mortars. Oh well.


Quick - play out the grenade attack - if successful claim victory and ignore the bit about the mortar..

Otherwise - play the mission again.. you can never play the same mission enough


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Cribbs
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmb


This was "The Long Way" mission and I was lucky enough to get the Mortar Support card early (maybe like the 3rd location) and was even luckier in that I was able to generate enough XP every turn to pay for it all the way to the objective.

Man, I owe that mortar team a beer. Talk about a location clearer!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David in Sydney (now in Coffs)
Australia
Coffs Harbour
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Another great location clearer is
Artillery Call - 5 RP
Expend this card to Attack
each Hostile and Soldier card
in a Location.
Hit 8
Explosion 4
Penetration 2

While it has no effect on the objective - it is a great way to SUPP/EKIA all the other hostiles there. arrrh
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.