GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,567 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
13 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Hellas» Forums » Rules

Subject: How many tiles do you draw when quarrying? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scott Kovatch
United States
Pleasanton
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So, while playing this wonderful game this evening, we hit what reads like a contradiction in the rules. If someone takes the quarrying action, "then the active player draws up to four quarry tiles." Then, we read "A player can place up to four quarry tiles in one action. After placing the fourth tile the action automatically ends."

But, in a callout block we read: "Important: The active player can’t refrain from revealing tiles after placing a tile on an active quarry before having placed his fourth tile during his turn." This sounds like a contradiction, because the first sentence seems to imply you can stop after 1-3 tiles have been drawn.

Can someone explain what the rules are trying to say? Does the player have to flip over tiles until they either a) pick 4 or b) pick one that goes where the quarry worker resides because it's too low, or do they draw quarries up to 4 times, stopping if either a) or b) happens?

It sounds like a bad translation to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Clegg
United States
Escondido
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is not up to the player to decide when to stop. The player will draw up to four. He stops after drawing and placing the fourth tile or after closing a quarry because the the tile drawn is numbered lower than all active quarries. The language "can't refrain" is emphasizing that the player cannot voluntarily stop before meeting one of the two conditions.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Kovatch
United States
Pleasanton
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
moramis wrote:
It is not up to the player to decide when to stop. The player will draw up to four. He stops after drawing and placing the fourth tile or after closing a quarry because the the tile drawn is numbered lower than all active quarries. The language "can't refrain" is emphasizing that the player cannot voluntarily stop before meeting one of the two conditions.

Okay, thanks. We did it wrong the first time someone did a quarry action, but corrected ourselves for the rest of the game. It makes quarrying a bit more of a gamble, but at least the player doing it controls where the next quarry will be placed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.