GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,929 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
15 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Too Many Bones» Forums » Rules

Subject: Will enemies with just Poison waste an attack on Tink's bot? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sean K
United States
Kansas
flag msg tools
mb
Enemies like the Bog Pole and Bog Lurk attack multiple "weakest" targets. If Tink's bot is on the field (and qualifies as one of the weakest targets), will it take one of the attacks- which would then do nothing because the bot is immune to poison?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leen Smit
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Yep, that seems to be the case indeed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Gerba
United States
Edmond
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
raddoc wrote:
Enemies like the Bog Pole and Bog Lurk attack multiple "weakest" targets. If Tink's bot is on the field (and qualifies as one of the weakest targets), will it take one of the attacks- which would then do nothing because the bot is immune to poison?

That is how I've been playing it. Just like that 5 point Manticore that has poison 2 and rage 2. When full health he won't do any damage to the bots, but when damaged he will try to poison (which will do nothing)and chunk 2 atk dice at the bot.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jebstone Boppman
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, use tink's bot to be a smart decoy, and let the baddies waste their poison, mischiefs, etc. on it
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Zipprich
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bots are also really great at chipping away at Golems with Break since they just auto attack and don't roll dice.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Wielgus
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes they will.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
chang chang

Connecticut
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jebstone wrote:
Yes, use tink's bot to be a smart decoy, and let the baddies waste their poison, mischiefs, etc. on it


I though mischief was one of the few things that affect the bot.
it reads "active dice" it doesn't make distinction between skill vs others. some of the attachment dice, as the one that give "BOT defense", counts as "Active" on the bot; hence it can be remove before attack by this ability, no?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Zipprich
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chang_1910 wrote:
Jebstone wrote:
Yes, use tink's bot to be a smart decoy, and let the baddies waste their poison, mischiefs, etc. on it


I though mischief was one of the few things that affect the bot.
it reads "active dice" it doesn't make distinction between skill vs others. some of the attachment dice, as the one that give "BOT defense", counts as "Active" on the bot; hence it can be remove before attack by this ability, no?


This only applies to active slots for the target of the baddie. Since bots have no active slots it doesn't work on them. Attacking a bot is not the same thing as attacking Tink.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
chang chang

Connecticut
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
stevozip wrote:
chang_1910 wrote:
Jebstone wrote:
Yes, use tink's bot to be a smart decoy, and let the baddies waste their poison, mischiefs, etc. on it


I though mischief was one of the few things that affect the bot.
it reads "active dice" it doesn't make distinction between skill vs others. some of the attachment dice, as the one that give "BOT defense", counts as "Active" on the bot; hence it can be remove before attack by this ability, no?


This only applies to active slots for the target of the baddie. Since bots have no active slots it doesn't work on them. Attacking a bot is not the same thing as attacking Tink.


hmmm.. no sure about this. the armor attachment, when shields are rolls it says bot active: place over bot, then it reads (active), same as when sheet says that a die is active for gearlocks. doesnt this imply that these dice are on the active slot of the bot?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Zipprich
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chang_1910 wrote:
stevozip wrote:
chang_1910 wrote:
Jebstone wrote:
Yes, use tink's bot to be a smart decoy, and let the baddies waste their poison, mischiefs, etc. on it


I though mischief was one of the few things that affect the bot.
it reads "active dice" it doesn't make distinction between skill vs others. some of the attachment dice, as the one that give "BOT defense", counts as "Active" on the bot; hence it can be remove before attack by this ability, no?


This only applies to active slots for the target of the baddie. Since bots have no active slots it doesn't work on them. Attacking a bot is not the same thing as attacking Tink.


hmmm.. no sure about this. the armor attachment, when shields are rolls it says bot active: place over bot, then it reads (active), same as when sheet says that a die is active for gearlocks. doesnt this imply that these dice are on the active slot of the bot?


Where are you reading this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daily Grind
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chang_1910 wrote:
hmmm.. no sure about this. the armor attachment, when shields are rolls it says bot active: place over bot, then it reads (active), same as when sheet says that a die is active for gearlocks. doesnt this imply that these dice are on the active slot of the bot?

Bot Defense says 'Place Die on Bot (Active)' but Intercept says to use an Ally (or Tink's) Active slot. I wound consider Mischief to work against Bot Defense but not Intercept.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
chang chang

Connecticut
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
stevozip wrote:
chang_1910 wrote:
stevozip wrote:
chang_1910 wrote:
Jebstone wrote:
Yes, use tink's bot to be a smart decoy, and let the baddies waste their poison, mischiefs, etc. on it


I though mischief was one of the few things that affect the bot.
it reads "active dice" it doesn't make distinction between skill vs others. some of the attachment dice, as the one that give "BOT defense", counts as "Active" on the bot; hence it can be remove before attack by this ability, no?


This only applies to active slots for the target of the baddie. Since bots have no active slots it doesn't work on them. Attacking a bot is not the same thing as attacking Tink.


hmmm.. no sure about this. the armor attachment, when shields are rolls it says bot active: place over bot, then it reads (active), same as when sheet says that a die is active for gearlocks. doesnt this imply that these dice are on the active slot of the bot?


Where are you reading this?


on the reference sheet. as @cafin8d said, on the left column it reads:
BOT defense (Bot/Ctr) - blocks # incoming Dmg to Bot
and then on the right bottom it says:
Bot - place die on Bot (active)

this to me count as that die being active on the bot, it might not have a mat with slot, but sound like a active slot.

cafin8d wrote:
chang_1910 wrote:
hmmm.. no sure about this. the armor attachment, when shields are rolls it says bot active: place over bot, then it reads (active), same as when sheet says that a die is active for gearlocks. doesnt this imply that these dice are on the active slot of the bot?

Bot Defense says 'Place Die on Bot (Active)' but Intercept says to use an Ally (or Tink's) Active slot. I wound consider Mischief to work against Bot Defense but not Intercept.


exactly.
mischief affect the active slot of its target. Hence with intercept, the die is on the active slot of a gearlock where the target is the bot
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.