GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,221 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
17 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Wing Leader: Victories 1940-1942» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Must" attack? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

Hi,

I'm new to the game, and am currently reading through the v2.0 rulebook before doing anything else. I just hit this sentence and wonder how to interpret it:

"Fighter squadrons that occupy the same square as the target of their tally must attack in the Combat Phase."

Is that to be interpreted as:
"Fighter squadrons that occupy the same square as the target of their tally must attack."

Or, as:
"When fighter squadrons ... attack their target, it must be in the Combat Phase"?

Why it's a question:
1) Is there any other phase during which Fighter squadrons can attack?
2) Because if the correct interpretation is the latter, then that's 100% redundant to the immediately preceding paragraph which reads:
"Air combat takes place in the Combat Phase when squadrons occupy the same square as a target they have tallied."
And redundancy of this nature is contrary to the style of the way the rulebook is written.

Thx!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles CORDIER
France
MONTIGNY SUR ARMANCON
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
As far as I understand the rule, the first interpretation is correct.
Redundancy is only apparent, as the two paragraphs state different things:

1. First paragraph defines a combat (same square, one squadron having tally on the other) ans specifically limit combat to the Combat Phase.

2. Second paragraph assign a fighter squadron to attack (and not move or something) when in the same square as its target. This may be underlined as a special case because tallying squadron have free movement EXCEPT when they are in this same square as their target (9.2.7).