1 Posts

Dungeon Dice» Forums » Reviews

Subject: Experiential Review of Dungeon Dice rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Di Muro
msg tools
mbmbmb
This review is about what makes this game great and what makes it weak. It looks at the best modes of play and what to avoid. I have been playing this game for almost two years now, on and off every week. So that says something in itself - but it has also allowed me to notice when it works well and when it doesn't.

I will not talk in depth about components, mechanics or strategy. That is covered extensively on the KS page, game rules and the forums.

Here goes.

This game is a rip roaring great time when played with 3 or 5 players.

The reason I say it works well with 3 or 5 players is the dynamics with those numbers create enough imbalance to ensure you always get support from one of the other players when trying to negotiate help facing a monster.

With two players if one of the players gets a really lucky draw or two, they will tear away with the lead and unless luck alone decides to even it out, you will not catch up.

With three players there is always two people willing to join forces to catch up to the leader. So any luck which sways the lead one way or another is mitigated by table politics.

With four players, about half way through the game, the "loser" falls so far behind that the second and third place players see them as purely a liability and will not help. So it effectively becomes a three player game with a fourth player just trailing along for the show. Baring a very lucky draw.

With five players the fourth and fifth player always team up to catch up so the issues with the four player game go away. Having said that it does become a 2 hour game with five players.

This game is complicated.