Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Star Wars: Rebellion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Using multiple leaders during the Combat Phase rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex N
United States
Metuchen
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Can a leader from the pool be added to the defense of a system even if there is already a defending leader with tactic values?

If so,

2. The rules specifies each player draws tactic cards based on his highest value leader's tactic values. Is it then possible to look at both defending leaders and choose the higher value of ground and space from both leaders? I assume that's true.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chiefsachem wrote:
1. Can a leader from the pool be added to the defense of a system even if there is already a defending leader with tactic values?


No. Take another look in the Combat section of the RRG. You can only send a leader when you have no leader with tactics values there already.

chiefsachem wrote:
2. The rules specifies each player draws tactic cards based on his highest value leader's tactic values. Is it then possible to look at both defending leaders and choose the higher value of ground and space from both leaders? I assume that's true.

While you can't send a second leader, there may be one or more other leaders already there due to previously activating the system or resolving a mission in the system before your current system activation.

In such a case, you could indeed use the best Space value of all the leaders you have there and the best Ground value of all the leaders you have there. Technically you don't choose. You must use the best value in each theater.
9 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregarious
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
From the rules under Combat:
"The current player (the player currently resolving his turn) must decide if he is adding a leader before his opponent decides."

Isn't the current player always the one initiating the combat. Isn't all combat initiated using a leader? (But perhaps a leader without tactic values like Mon Mothma using Public Uprising.)

So then you can use this as a mechanic to stack an extra leader into the system. This could help prevent being captured or increase your chance of a mission succeeding in a subsequent turn.

e.g. Play the Public Uprising mission with Mon Mothma (no tactic values) then add Chewbacca (has 1 space 2 ground) to the system. Now you have 3x spec ops to help you oppose Capture Rebel Operative.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Greg443 wrote:

Isn't the current player always the one initiating the combat. Isn't all combat initiated using a leader? (But perhaps a leader without tactic values like Mon Mothma using Public Uprising.)

So then you can use this as a mechanic to stack an extra leader into the system. This could help prevent being captured or increase your chance of a mission succeeding in a subsequent turn.

e.g. Play the Public Uprising mission with Mon Mothma (no tactic values) then add Chewbacca (has 1 space 2 ground) to the system. Now you have 3x spec ops to help you oppose Capture Rebel Operative.


You could also just assign Chewy to the mission with Mon Mothma, but yes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Greg443 wrote:
Isn't the current player always the one initiating the combat. Isn't all combat initiated using a leader? (But perhaps a leader without tactic values like Mon Mothma using Public Uprising.)

You could also reveal the Rebel Base voluntarily to initiate a combat without there being any leader. This could often happen if the Death Star just moved into the base's system without Ground units to support it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Witold G
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Avatar
Greg443 wrote:
Isn't all combat initiated using a leader?

Not always, Rebels can initiate combat using voluntary base reveal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Theoretically, Boba Fett could also use Planetary Conquest to initiate a battle as well.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Witold G
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Avatar
sigmazero13 wrote:
Theoretically, Boba Fett could also use Planetary Conquest to initiate a battle as well.

Well, if we're talking about all cases where you can initiate battle without leaders with tactic values (not just initiating without any leader at all), there's also Fett or Greejatus retreating into hidden Rebel base.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aron
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Life is game, you gotta enjoy the journey.
badge
Life may knock you down sometimes. Its up to you if you stand up and live your life to the fullest.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sigmazero13 wrote:
Theoretically, Boba Fett could also use Planetary Conquest to initiate a battle as well.


I did that on PBF022
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aron
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Life is game, you gotta enjoy the journey.
badge
Life may knock you down sometimes. Its up to you if you stand up and live your life to the fullest.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Perf wrote:
sigmazero13 wrote:
Theoretically, Boba Fett could also use Planetary Conquest to initiate a battle as well.

Well, if we're talking about all cases where you can initiate battle without leaders with tactic values (not just initiating without any leader at all), there's also Fett or Greejatus retreating into hidden Rebel base.


True, whenever you are in a battle and have zero tactic ratings present from leader(s) (because not present or no tactics): you can add a leader. That applies to attacker and Defender.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.