Popular Tags: [View All]
Todd Pytel
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
OK... just the solar system and not the galaxy, but the UN is nothing if not ambitious.

I'm new to HF with this edition, though not new to Phil's other excellent games. I've played a handful of FtF HF games against other new players and I've played about a dozen CEO solitaire games to various stages of failure or completion. I feel like I've got a strong, generally feasible CEO strategy at this point that netted me a 60+ point margin of victory in a cardboard game. Of course, I may be completely misunderstanding a rule or two, so I figured it would be instructive and fun to post a complete, detailed session for public review. Thus, I'll post summaries of each solar cycle in this CEO run, but I'll also post Vassal logfiles with significant commentary included so that interested parties (if any exist) can follow along turn by turn.

However, I wasn't quite happy with how the 0.3 Vassal module handles draws from the bottom of the deck - it manages this through reversing the patent decks, which unavoidably reveals the next-to-last card when you buy off the bottom. That's potentially important information in a CEO run. I did a little research and implemented a proper draw-from-the-bottom method that wouldn't reveal any extra information. So if you'd like to follow along turn-by-turn, you'll need my modified Vassal module from the link below - the saves and logs will not work with the regular 0.3 module. My module is tagged as version "0.3a" so that you'll be able to differentiate it from the standard module and install it alongside the regular 0.3 module. (I've also GM'd DrakeImmortalis to see if he'd like to incorporate these changes into his module.)