Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Assets you control rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Boulter
United Kingdom
Bristol
UK
flag msg tools
badge
knowledge is power
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Some encounter cards require you to discard assets you control.

Rules Reference p.16 states a player controls cards in out-of-play areas, such as hand, deck and discard pile.

So are these legal areas to satisfy the above?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Bocketti
United States
Clifton Park
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1683902/asset-you-control
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dusty
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
No, the rule in question answering this is under Ability on page 2 of the rules reference.

Card abilities only interact with other cards that are in play, unless the ability specially references an interaction with cards in an out-of-play area.

Unless those cards reference your hand you must satisfy them from cards in play.

... ninj'd.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Panagiotis
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
One who fully grasps Bayes' Theorem, yet remains in our universe to aid others, is known as a Bayesattva.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It seems like the rules statements on p 16 and p 2 are contradictory.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M M
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Grim Rule
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Hansen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pokeweed Mitogen wrote:
It seems like the rules statements on p 16 and p 2 are contradictory.

What makes you think they are contradictory? Control and interaction are two independent aspects of the rules.

Mat628 wrote:
Grim Rule

The grim rule is only to be used during a game because you don't want to look up a rule and break the flow of the game. It should never be used to answer a rules question on a forum like BGG.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn Garbett
United States
Nashville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Will Provide Statistics for Data
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pokeweed Mitogen wrote:
It seems like the rules statements on p 16 and p 2 are contradictory.


Sounds like some confusion between "In Control" and "In Play" which are not mutually exclusive conditions.

RR pg. 4 wrote:
An investigator is permitted to activate abilities from the following sources:
* A card in play and under his or her control. This includes his or her investigator card. ...


This uses "In Control" and "In Play" as denoting the cards that are active in a player's area. The two separate conditions.

RR pg. 16 wrote:
A player controls the cards located in his or her out-of-play game areas (such as the hand, deck, discard pile).


Which now expands the definition of "In Control" to everything that is a player's cards including his deck. But there are cards "In Play" on the tableau and cards "Out of Play", i.e. hand, deck and discard.

Now using the following:

RR pg. 2 wrote:
* Card abilities only interact with the game if the card bearing the ability is in play, unless the ability (or rules for the cardtype) specifically references its use from an out-of-play area.


This is a restriction that a card's ability or text only interacts with cards that are "In Play" unless stated otherwise.
Crypt Chill wrote:
If you fail, choose and discard 1 asset you control ...


So when it states "1 asset you control" in it's ability, this by the pg 2 implicitly contains "In Play", so it becomes "1 asset you control in play".

Thus the rules do not conflict, they are just implicit.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon H
United States
Orion Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not so much contradictory as unnecessarily ambiguous. The term "control" is defined to include cards in your hand and discard, but as far as I know, it's never used in a way that includes those cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.