Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kiefer Shipman
United States
San Marcos
Texas
flag msg tools
mb
I'm no artist. Not even a little. I'm no good at making othings pretty. But I've designed a game. There's only one slight problem. I need a design to go with it. Board, cards, player boards, box art...the lot. BUT I don't know how I'm ever going to pay for it. Obviously, I don't want any artist to work for free, but at the same time I can't really afford to pay out of pocket for one. The problem I have is I have no doubt I could get it funded on KS. I could use the proceeds to pay the artist. But the artist wouldn't likely be down for that. So I find myself in a sort of limbo with my game. I need the art for the KS, but I need the money from the KS to pay the artist for the art. I just can't seem to win.

Anybody have any solutions?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noah Chesnut
msg tools
Maybe pay for just enough to populate KS page? Or if you have a decent artist friend get them to do it and say you'll get professional on KS page?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Wocken
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Freelance Game Graphic Designer
mbmbmbmbmb
You could shop it around to various publishers at a convention(s) with publisher speed dating or arranging meetings in advance. If they purchase it, they would potentially retheme/reskin the game anyways, so you'd be saving yourself a small bundle of cash.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kiefer Shipman
United States
San Marcos
Texas
flag msg tools
mb
pandawear wrote:
You could shop it around to various publishers at a convention(s) with publisher speed dating or arranging meetings in advance. If they purchase it, they would potentially retheme/reskin the game anyways, so you'd be saving yourself a small bundle of cash.