Popular Tags: games [+] osprey [+] ospreygames [+] [View All]
Martin Boisselle
Canada
Boucherville
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Within the realm of color, the shadows often assume responsibility for the awkward shine of yellow.
mbmbmbmbmb
As soon as I started playing modern games, back in 2004, I started thinking about making games myself.

The early prototypes I made were often way too complicated and over-designed, as I hadn't played a lot of games at the time.
I made several major errors in those earlier designs.
Yet, I continued designing, refining my style.

A friend of mine challenged me to design an economic game at some point, his favorite style of games.
I accepted the challenge and a slow winding path emerged in my design cycle where a lot of train games were created.
These were Winsome-esque train games, some really good, while others were dead-ends that teached me some finer points of game creation.

While designing these games and playing published games, I came across Container. It was a revelation for me.
It was sandboxy but not quite and that you could manipulate small levers here and there to stretch the gameplay was fascinating.

At some point, around 2013-2014, the craze was to make card games out of games, sort of express-type versions.
I thought it would be great to make a card game out of Container.
And so I started designing that game.

First Stage

I first analyzed Container for it was, mechanically speaking.
I think of Container as a series of zones where you cannot interact in 2 successive zones, leaving some of the transitions to other players.
The end goal either being that you get back what you sent or you got rich while doing it.

Ok, but how do you translate that to a card game?

First off, it needs to be simplified.

So I set off determining that I needed some sort of goods to exchange or transport.
If this is a card version of Container, why not just use that theme?

Ok, we've got goods.

So we need ships? Ok for that also.