Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault – Jabba's Realm» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about terminal (mild spoiler) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Yannick Mescam
France
flag msg tools
Hello

In a scenario, there is something related to the fact that a figure is adjacent or not to a terminal (not the square containing the terminal, but the terminal itself).

In Jabba's Realm rulebook, there is the following sentence p.4:
A companion is adjacent to each figure and object in its space,
and each of those figures and objects are adjacent to the
companion

So I think that a figurine is also adjacent to a terminal if on the same space, but I'd like a confirmation.

I already read this topic, but it doesn't seems to be clear on this point.

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Yes, you are adjacent to everything in your space and any adjacent space.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's not actually a rule, Craig. A figure is adjacent to an object in their space for the purposes of Blast, Cleave and Melee attacks, but for most other things, they are not adjacent.

Mostly, the rules will say you need to be adjacent or on a terminal to interact with it, so it doesn't usually matter. This was probably missed here and there though.

Which scenario are you discussing in particular?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Sorry, I was speaking in context of adjacency to objects.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yannick Mescam
France
flag msg tools

Scenario # below
Spoiler (click to reveal)

Scenario 1
A rebel figurine cannot interact with a terminal if a stormtrooper is adjacent to it
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alain Baum
Luxembourg
Grevenmacher
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
Which scenario are you discussing in particular?


I don't know whether it is that one the OP is speaking of, but:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
"Trespass" says that "Heroes cannot interact with the terminal while there is at least 1 Stormtrooper adjacent to it."

With the RAW, a Stormtrooper on top of the terminal would not be stopping the interacting.


Edit: Ninja'd by OP
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, rules as written, being on top of the terminal is not adjacent. The intention was probably to mention being in that space too, though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
Yep, rules as written, being on top of the terminal is not adjacent. The intention was probably to mention being in that space too, though.


Absolutely. There is no way the intention is that an ST in the same space doesn't block the interaction. I'm not even sure how the RAW says differently...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In effect the rebels need to control the terminal to use it, but the campaign does not use the control concept as often as skirmish does. So, I think that is why it was explicitly written and thus a mistake had a chance to creep in.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.