Subject: Role Playing Games for 11 year olds rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
benjamin CLOVIS
France
flag msg tools
mb
Hi all,
I am relatively new to board gaming (two years) but am, as my poker friends say "all in". My son is following in my footsteps, and is an avid boardgamer as well. At school however, he has gotten interested in some RPGs organised by one of the organizers. He and his friends are really into RPGs while still being quite vague about what it is they actually do.
While I am happy to host my son and his friends for all sort of boardgames, I am not really up for any RPG action. IS there any role playing game that you guys can recommend that a group of 4 or 5 clever 11 year olds can play with minimal adult supervision?
Much appreciated
clovis

(and I really men RPG, not Mice and Mystics which I consider more of a board game. Cheers)

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moose Detective
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
Than Sense
badge
Is it a moose that became a detective ? Or a detective who searches for moose?
mbmbmbmbmb
I taught myself and my friends D&D at 10. If the kids are nerdy/geeky/into it they're ready for any mainstream RPG or board game.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Under the paving stones, the beach
United Kingdom
Huddersfield
West Yorkshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You'll want to ask this over on RPGGeek where other people should have more suggestions for you.

But have a look at Advanced Fighting Fantasy. The rules are simple enough that it's a good starting point, but it's a decent setting with quite a lot of appeal.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason R
United States
Culpeper
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
No Thank You, Evil!

This is built as a family rag. There are several levels of complexity as far as rules, and the subject matter is great for kids.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gustav Emilsson
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmb