Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Scenario 19 Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Latimore
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Spoilers for scenario 19

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Does Hail treat the Altar as a focus, or does she just move closer no matter what?

For example, if enemies are blocking a door completely, will she still move toward the altar, even though there is no path to it?

Also, let's say there is a path through an ally to the altar that goes through no traps. However, the closest hex to the altar she can make it to this turn is a trap hex. Will she move on to the trap or not?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenny Wong
msg tools
alphasquid wrote:
Spoilers for scenario 19

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Does Hail treat the Altar as a focus, or does she just move closer no matter what?

For example, if enemies are blocking a door completely, will she still move toward the altar, even though there is no path to it?

Also, let's say there is a path through an ally to the altar that goes through no traps. However, the closest hex to the altar she can make it to this turn is a trap hex. Will she move on to the trap or not?


Spoiler (click to reveal)
We played this just yesterday, this is how we ruled it.
1. As long as there is space, she will move towards the altar.
For this, she will move pass an ally through a door if there's is space.

2. If enemies are blocking the entrance, she cannot move through, since she is considered an enemy to them.

3. She will step on a trap, if that's the only space available, even when she cannot move through the door blocked by enemy, just to get closer to the altar.
For this part, an example, we sprung one of the trap and left it open, so she goes onto the empty hex. Since she no longer have any space to move forward to, she stops on that hex. If not, she will step onto one of the traps by the last door.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Isaac Childres
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
She treats it like a focus.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wes Holland

North Carolina
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
alphasquid wrote:
Spoilers for scenario 19

Spoiler (click to reveal)

Also, let's say there is a path through an ally to the altar that goes through no traps. However, the closest hex to the altar she can make it to this turn is a trap hex. Will she move on to the trap or not?


Not move on the trap. There's a valid path that doesn't go through traps, so will never move onto a trap.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd T
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CrushU wrote:
alphasquid wrote:
Spoilers for scenario 19

Spoiler (click to reveal)

Also, let's say there is a path through an ally to the altar that goes through no traps. However, the closest hex to the altar she can make it to this turn is a trap hex. Will she move on to the trap or not?


Not move on the trap. There's a valid path that doesn't go through traps, so will never move onto a trap.

Sorry, Wes, but she will spring a trap. The description on the Scenario specifically states:

Quote:
She acts on initiative 99 each round, performing “Move 2” towards the altar , opening doors and springing traps if necessary.

Since she treats it like a focus, even if this wasn't mentioned she would spring a trap since monsters will step on traps, but only when no other options are available.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Latimore
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
thomast8991 wrote:
CrushU wrote:
alphasquid wrote:
Spoilers for scenario 19

Spoiler (click to reveal)

Also, let's say there is a path through an ally to the altar that goes through no traps. However, the closest hex to the altar she can make it to this turn is a trap hex. Will she move on to the trap or not?


Not move on the trap. There's a valid path that doesn't go through traps, so will never move onto a trap.

Sorry, Wes, but she will spring a trap. The description on the Scenario specifically states:

Quote:
She acts on initiative 99 each round, performing “Move 2” towards the altar , opening doors and springing traps if necessary.

Since she treats it like a focus, even if this wasn't mentioned she would spring a trap since monsters will step on traps, but only when no other options are available.
That's not how focus works. If there is a path to her focus that does not go through a trap, then she will not move onto traps at all, even if that would let her get closer this turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wes Holland

North Carolina
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thomast8991 wrote:
CrushU wrote:
alphasquid wrote:
Spoilers for scenario 19

Spoiler (click to reveal)

Also, let's say there is a path through an ally to the altar that goes through no traps. However, the closest hex to the altar she can make it to this turn is a trap hex. Will she move on to the trap or not?


Not move on the trap. There's a valid path that doesn't go through traps, so will never move onto a trap.

Sorry, Wes, but she will spring a trap. The description on the Scenario specifically states:

Quote:
She acts on initiative 99 each round, performing “Move 2” towards the altar , opening doors and springing traps if necessary.

Since she treats it like a focus, even if this wasn't mentioned she would spring a trap since monsters will step on traps, but only when no other options are available.


The key is the two words 'if necessary'. If there exists a path to the focus that doesn't go through traps, it isn't necessary to spring the trap, and thus doesn't spring it.

It is exceedingly difficult to get monsters to step on traps of their own volition. Pull/Push and Controlling Movement is way better ways to spring traps using monsters.

You must be completely unable to reach your focus without stepping on a trap. Then, and only then, are you allowed to consider stepping on a trap to reach your focus. If a friendly is blocking your path to focus, don't step on a trap.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nikos Kalfin
Greece
N.Makri / Athens
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
another question regarding this very interesting scenario from me

Spoiler (click to reveal)
- can this hail move to the same hex as a character? i guess it can move through but not end on the same hex
-- likewise can a character move on hail's hex

i believe answer is no to both but i need to be sure


thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fito R
Argentina
flag msg tools
Avatar
No to both. Hail occupies the space just like a summon or character.

I would also like to point out that Hail can't really treat the Altar as a focus, as Isaac said, because in that case she wouldn't move at all unless all doors were opened!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur Janicek
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So given that she moves towards her focus even through closed doors, would she move closer towards her focus if there is a monster standing in a doorway between her and her focus?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MA A.
Canada
flag msg tools
Daemon6 wrote:
So given that she moves towards her focus even through closed doors, would she move closer towards her focus if there is a monster standing in a doorway between her and her focus?

No, since she has no direct path to her focus she wouldn't move. It's the same thing with melee monster when a character is invisible on a door, since they have no path to their focus they don't move.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Willott
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Not how we played it. We played that she moved closer every turn, along a path that didn't go through traps if possible. She would walk right up to monsters blocking her way, so we had to make sure they didn't. But I don't really know if they ever DID completely block her way. The last room might have been affected.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Grubert
United States
San Diego
CA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Another thing that was not quite clear is whether the altar is an obstacle or not. I.e. does the game end when the character is next to the altar tile or on top of it? If it's not an obstacle, can monsters move on it and block the space?

All in all not very fun, I hope there aren't too many more escort missions.. shake
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.