Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

War of the Ring (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Military Victory clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark R
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I just wanted to get people's thoughts on a situation that came up in a recent game.

In one of the turns both the Shadow player and the Free Peoples player achieved the required number of victory points for a military victory.

The confusion is regarding who actually wins the game - in the rulebook it states that the victory check is done at the end of the turn once all action dice have been resolved. As the Shadow player achieved it first, does that mean he wins? Or does the fact that the Free Peoples player got the 4 points required overrule the Shadow player's achievement?

Any help would be appreciated!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Dexter
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
If both sides reach the required number of victory points and have them at the end of a turn, the shadow player wins. When during the turn/game they actually conquered the regions is not relevant.

The Free Player thus has to get 4 VP AND the shadow player NOT get 10 VP to win.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Koolin
Netherlands
Noord-Brabant
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If more victory conditions would be reached the order in which they appear in the rulebook determines who wins.

Rulebook (section winning the game) wrote:
Note that lower-numbered Victory conditions take precedence over higher-numbered Victory conditions, if two or more are achieved on the same turn.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark R
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Perfect, thanks! Does it say this explicitly in the rulebook anywhere?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark R
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Koolin wrote:
If more victory conditions would be reached the order in which they appear in the rulebook determines who wins.

Rulebook (section winning the game) wrote:
Note that lower-numbered Victory conditions take precedence over higher-numbered Victory conditions, if two or more are achieved on the same turn.


From this interpretation this seems like the Free Peoples player wins then?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Koolin
Netherlands
Noord-Brabant
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Note that the numbers refer to the order in the rulebook, not the VP's to achieve the victory. This is common misunderstanding in the beginning (for me as well)

The FP MV is numbered 4, the SP MV is number 3 (FSP dunk is 2 and SP corruption is 1). Thereby the SP would win in this case.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark R
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Koolin wrote:
Note that the numbers refer to the order in the rulebook, not the VP's to achieve the victory. This is common misunderstanding in the beginning (for me as well)

The FP MV is numbered 4, the SP MV is number 3 (FSP dunk is 2 and SP corruption is 1). Thereby the SP would win in this case.


Ah I see, makes sense now! Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.