BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Do It Yourself

Subject: Creating paste ups to sell rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mr. Goodwrong
Slovenia
flag msg tools
Hello everyone!

Recently I have been very interested in the board game world, watching tons of playthrough videos, buying games, teaching games to new players and so on. And even though I'm not as hardcore as many people here, I can still say that I love board games and would like to make them a bigger part of my life.

So I started thinking how to convert this hobby into a business idea. I came up with something, but would like to ask the opinion of the community here first.

I am a translator and I come from a small country, Slovenia. Our people like to play board games, however because of the small market very few games get translated and published in Slovenian. I believe the heaviest translated game is the Catan series. So I started thinking about translating popular games myself (mostly games with cards that include a lot of text), and offering the translations in the form of transparent adhesive PASTE UPS or even have them printed directly on CARD SLEEVES. In this way many more games would be available to Slovenian players in a much shorter time. I have already done much thinking and found many difficulties with the idea, but would still like give it a go.

I would like to ask the people here:
1. Do you think it's a good idea? Do you think people would buy a product like that? (the price would have to be low, maybe 10% of the game price)
2. Is this legal or does it infringe some copyright? (people would still need to buy the game to be able to use the product, so this is good for board game sales anyway)

Please let me know any thoughts that you might have. I really hope I can turn this idea into a reality and help more people get access to all the wonderful board games out there. And if this works in my language, I could even try expanding into other languages.

Thumb up
 tip