Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

King of Tokyo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can one decline to Smash when rolling a claw? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Childers
United States
Dayton
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A situation appears fairly often in our few games with our new copy of the Iello edition. A player is out of Tokyo and wants to heal. He is re-rolling claws because he wants hearts and does not want to be in Tokyo. If you get a claw on your third re-roll, we have been playing it that you must swing and if the person in Tokyo yields, then you have to go in even though you'd rather not and hadn't planned on dealing damage this turn. The resulting deaths in Tokyo feel unfair (the next player kills them with enough claws all at once, so they don't get a chance to yield). Are we playing correctly?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rathbun
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MainiacJoe wrote:
Are we playing correctly?

Short answer: Yes.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Link
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Back off, man! I'm a Scientist!
badge
All hail El Goblino!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are playing correctly. Dice results are not optional. In my group, that's often how folks end up in Tokyo in the first place!

Edit: ninja
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Beiter
United States
Tonawanda
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you roll a claw, you have to attack and potentually enter Tokyo.

So hopefully you rolled enough hearts as well to allow you to survive an attack.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donny Behne
United States
Fate
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
www.punchboardmedia.com/geaux-gaming/
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that is the correct way to play. We played it the other way for years before realizing resolving dice is not an optional effect.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Abdiel Xordium
msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
You're playing correctly and the game wouldn't be worth playing otherwise. If you really don't want to go to Tokyo don't keep rolling the dice to try for more hearts.

If the following player kills you they will have to go to Tokyo themselves. If the next player wants to go to Tokyo, it's probably more important to you not to go than it is to squeeze out another heart.

KoT uses dice, but it's more about predicting what your opponents want to do.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Bakija
United States
flag msg tools
Q: Are we not men?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MainiacJoe wrote:
A situation appears fairly often in our few games with our new copy of the Iello edition. A player is out of Tokyo and wants to heal. He is re-rolling claws because he wants hearts and does not want to be in Tokyo. If you get a claw on your third re-roll, we have been playing it that you must swing and if the person in Tokyo yields, then you have to go in even though you'd rather not and hadn't planned on dealing damage this turn. The resulting deaths in Tokyo feel unfair (the next player kills them with enough claws all at once, so they don't get a chance to yield). Are we playing correctly?


Yes. If you roll a claw, you hit the guy in Tokyo, regardless of what you actually want.

This is one of the main uses for power cards that say, like, "You can turn any die into a 1" or whatever. If you are outside of Tokyo, and really want to heal and avoid Tokyo, and then accidentally end up with a claw on your last roll, you can use powers like that (Herd Culler, Stretchy, and Plot Twist help here) to switch the claw to something that isn't a claw.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ashley Riddell
Norway
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
You are a kaiju. You cannot help yourself but attack even when it is against your own interests. It's just your nature.robot Raaawwwr. (Falls dead through an office building in slow motion)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.