Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Erebor Hammersmith - Response rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hitbaz 47
Brazil
South Carolina
flag msg tools
"Response: After you play Erebor Hammersmith, return the topmost attachment in any player's discard pile to his hand".

Can I use this effect for more than 1 player? Like me and the player B? Or just 1 player?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Hitbaz wrote:
"Response: After you play Erebor Hammersmith, return the topmost attachment in any player's discard pile to his hand".

Can I use this effect for more than 1 player? Like me and the player B? Or just 1 player?

1 player
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
CD
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I see how the wording might make you think that, but its definitely intended for just 1 player to benefit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hitbaz 47
Brazil
South Carolina
flag msg tools
Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Goulette
United States
Santa Clara
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hitbaz wrote:
"Response: After you play Erebor Hammersmith, return the topmost attachment in any player's discard pile to his hand".

Can I use this effect for more than 1 player? Like me and the player B? Or just 1 player?


Well there still are two ways to read this. "Topmost" is ambiguous. Topmost in the pile you choose? Or topmost over all piles.

To be more clear, here are the cases:

a) Choose a discard pile: return the topmost card in that discard pile.

b) Among all of the discard piles, whichever has an attachment that is highest (closest to the top), return that card.


I believe a) is the intended ruling.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Koen Hendrickx
Belgium
Reet
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ah...

the "each" vs "any" question: always tricky for non native speakers
designers should know that it's always open for discussion, but:

each = every
any = just 1, but you can choose which

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Goulette
United States
Santa Clara
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
foentje wrote:
ah...

the "each" vs "any" question: always tricky for non native speakers
designers should know that it's always open for discussion, but:

each = every
any = just 1, but you can choose which



Are you saying your definitions here are rules for this game?

Because your definition of "any" isn't always correct. It is contextual.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
anaturalharmonic wrote:
Hitbaz wrote:
"Response: After you play Erebor Hammersmith, return the topmost attachment in any player's discard pile to his hand".

Can I use this effect for more than 1 player? Like me and the player B? Or just 1 player?


Well there still are two ways to read this. "Topmost" is ambiguous. Topmost in the pile you choose? Or topmost over all piles.

To be more clear, here are the cases:

a) Choose a discard pile: return the topmost card in that discard pile.

b) Among all of the discard piles, whichever has an attachment that is highest (closest to the top), return that card.


I believe a) is the intended ruling.

A is the intended ruling. Pick a discard pile. The attachment closest to the top of that selected pile goes back to that player's hand.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.