Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Builders of Blankenburg» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do you need to buy if you bid? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Deb Wentworth
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Or can you decide to keep your coins instead if there are slim pickings by the time it's your turn to choose? I'm assuming you must buy.

But what happens if everyone bids and when it's your turn to take there is nothing left?

I realize that this can't happen in the first round because you're instructed to re-roll the dice if one spot is left without resources. But it could happen in other rounds, couldn't it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Schultz
United States
Castaic
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Yes, you are required to buy if you bid. Therefore, it's important to take your current seat position into account when bidding. Generally, a bid a one that's guaranteed to get you something will work out pretty well, even if your first choice of resource is no longer available when it's your selection.

While uncommon, there can be turns when there are less resource lots than there are players. In those situations, it's doubly important to assess what you can reasonably expect to win with your bid. If you bid and there are no resources left at your selection, you go empty handed that turn. However, if you're afraid this may occur you can bid zero, gain three silver, and be in good position for the marketplace phase later in the turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.