Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: When can I use range ruler? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Elliott Harding
United States
Rapid City
South Dakota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can it be used anytime? Any phase?

Thanks!

Elliott
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henry Richards
United States
Port Orchard
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From what I understand you cannot use it while setting your dial, but anytime after that's set and will not be changed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Quinn Reid
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
you should only be using the range ruler during the target lock action and combat phase.

"Declare Target: The attacker may measure
range to any number of enemy ships and check
which enemy ships are inside his firing arc. Then
the attacker chooses one of his weapons to
attack with. Then he chooses one enemy ship to
be the target and pays any costs required for the
attack."

Happy Flying Elliott!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Cowlishaw
msg tools
You can only use the range ruler when the game instructs you to.

This is:

When you have stated you are going to attempt a target lock action, after you have declared who you are going to try and lock on to (i.e. you can't measure who's in range and then pick).

When you have stated that a specific ship is going to attack, you can measure range before you pick your weapon and target.

After you have declared you are using an ability that talks about "another ship within range X" such as R7-T1, Operations Specialist, etc.

Note that in all cases, once you've declared you're doing it, you're stuck. If you say you want to check for a target lock on ship X, and it's in range, you must lock onto it - so whilst you can use the target lock action as a 'rangefinder' ability, you can't change your mind and evade once you find out he will be in range to shoot back.

If it turns out he's not in range, fair enough, pick another action (just as if you found you couldn't fit after declaring a barrel roll)
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
thespaceinvader -
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
eharding wrote:
Can it be used anytime? Any phase?

Thanks!

Elliott

You can only measure range and check arc when game effects require or allow you to measure range and check arc.

So, when you do a Target Lock action, when you activate in the combat phase, or if a card instructs you to do something which requires knowing if a ship is in range/arc.

It's probably worth noting in context that it IS entirely legitimate and it is NOT remotely cheesy, to declare that you're trying to lock a ship that is clearly out of range, in order to get an excuse to lay down your range ruler on the most direct line between you and that ship. The penalty for doign so is that if you miss your guess and are in range, you're locked into the TL action when you might well want to do something else e.g. barrel roll out of range, focus, or evade. When doing so, you can't measure range to any OTHER ship though, except possibly incidentally... and if you don't HAVE the target lock action, you absolutely can't take an action to measure stuff.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
I'm only happy when it rains...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
this shit= why I want to sell it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henrik Johansson
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
thespaceinvader wrote:
It's probably worth noting in context that it IS entirely legitimate and it is NOT remotely cheesy, to declare that you're trying to lock a ship that is clearly out of range, in order to get an excuse to lay down your range ruler on the most direct line between you and that ship.

It is indeed legitimate. What constitutes as "cheesy" though is very much a subjective mater.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Test Candidate (sans Deadly Neurotoxin)
badge
Warming up the deadly neurotoxin...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Measuring Range

Players may only measure range and/or use the range ruler to determine whether a ship is inside or outside of a firing arc at the following times:
• When a ship becomes the active ship during the combat phase, the active
player can measure range from the active ship to any enemy ships before declaring one as its target.
• When a player declares a ship’s ability that requires another ship (or ships) to be at a certain range, the player trying to resolve the ability can measure range from their ship to any valid ships before resolving the ability.
• After declaring the intended target of a target lock action, the active player may measure range to the intended target, and only to the intended target


An activated ship (the one you are currently attacking with) can measure all over the place. Decide which target to attack. See who will be attacking back. To and from that active ship.

Then basically when an ability requires range, that range can be checked. Things like a target lock action, or other actions/abilities. Only the range or firing arc for that ability can be measured.

The game has a lot of estimated information, letting players measure at any time would slow it down to a crawl and take a lot away from the game over all.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Elliott Harding
United States
Rapid City
South Dakota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks everyone. One of the examples we were trying to determine was measuring during the Activation Phase to determine if any evade or focus token would be helpful. It appears that would not be a legal thing to do.

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.