Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Rum & Bones: Second Tide» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ransack and pillage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
kraig applegate
msg tools
Ran into an issue during our last game that raised a question regarding the rules for ransack and pillage. As written, it states that for each crew removed, you may make 1 attack on a deck feature or enemy hero on that ship

Playing against the Blutrausch Legion, we had already destroyed the rigging line when our crew reached the adjacent deployment point. Since there was also no hero on that ship, the rules were interpreted that we could not roll for the removed crew. The opposing team was thus able to ignore the larger group of crew that would hit in 2 turns.

Is this intended? It seems like it gives a noticeable advantage to 3 ship crews.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Sönmez
Germany
Aachen
Deutschland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If your crew enters an enemys dep.point. you choose a zone where an enemy objective or Hero is..no matter on which ship they are...if you remove 1 deckhand and 1 bosun for example you roll 2 dice and need a 3+ to hit
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
kraig applegate
msg tools
dmonhiiro wrote:
If your crew enters an enemys dep.point. you choose a zone where an enemy objective or Hero is..no matter on which ship they are...if you remove 1 deckhand and 1 bosun for example you roll 2 dice and need a 3+ to hit


I would assume that is the intent of the rule, but as written it clearly states

"If Crew would ever move onto an enemy Deployment Point
(from having reached the end of their movement track) they
have pushed as far onto the enemy ship as they can go, and
now disperse in a mad rush of pillaging and ransacking!
Remove all Crew from that zone. For each Crew removed,
make 1 attack targeting a zone containing an enemy Deck
Feature or Hero on that ship. These attacks Hit on a 3+."

So some clarification is necessary.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luke Butler
Canada
Newfoundland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We asked this same question last time we played as well. Thematically it makes no sense for the "ransacking crew" to be able to target deck features on OTHER boats.

We ruled that it has to be that boat. If everything is already destroyed and there are no heroes you don't roll at all. It could have been a strategic decision to abandon the already destroyed boat to defend the other(s), etc.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would agree. There might be other stuff for the crew to pillage on that boat which doesn't count for gameplay (such as rum stores).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.