Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martin Röseler
Germany
München
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hi.
I am new to this kind of game. I am interessted in war game board games. With this I mean board games in the category of war games or with this kind of mechanics. Like a "war game out of the box". For example Warhammer 40K is not what I want because I don't want to buy all the pieces seperatly. I want a war game like board game where everything is in the box.
I know already of some games of this kind like Heroes of the Great War: Limanowa 1914, Paths of Glory or I think Memoir '44.
But somehow most of these games have a fixed map. So you play a tactical game over and over on the same map. Is this a problem for replayability? After the third play will you almost always follow the same strategy? Like putting an artillery here and rushing fast for city X and so on?

Are there board games with war game characteristics and a modular map where you have to develop a new strategy every time (or almost every time) you play the game?
Is a fixed map a problem for replayability?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Kaiser
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Space Empires: 4X comes to mind. And maybe Runewars.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddy Sterckx
Belgium
Vilvoorde
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
You mentioned Memoir '44 - in it the "map" is always different based on the scenario you play. If you really want to go all-out and never have the same map and setup twice, try a system like Johnny Reb III

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Röseler
Germany
München
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
A quick view on images of Johnny Reb III makes the impression that this is a war game where you have to buy a lot of miniatures seperatly. Is this true?

Maybe the other question was not so clear. Do you think a not modular map is a problem for replayability?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon
United Kingdom
Cambridge
flag msg tools
badge