We played 5 player with expansion this night.
There are event results that say, 'place a free colony ship as soon as possible
1 - If you already have 3 ships out does this mean you could place this free ship on a later turn?!
Yes, if not, the text would be "place a free colony ship immediately"
The new Alien has a friendship card that says, 'Each turn do blah blah blah...' (Minor Donations I think it was called)
2 - I hope this card really means, 'each of your turns'...?
There are some other cards from that race that dont even use the word 'turn'.
Friendship cards can only be used in the own turn and/or special situations, e.g. each production phase or each rolled "7"
More answers can be found here: http://www.catan.com/faq-page/115
Dr. Reiner Düren