Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Kodama: The Tree Spirits» Forums » Rules

Subject: Right vs Left of trunk rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bob Bob742
msg tools
War is a Racket - Maj Gen Smedley Darlington Butler d
Avatar
mbmb
Don't have cards in front of me, but there are some Kodama cards talking about branches on the left & right of a card, and then scoring on whichever side has fewer.

What if you have zero on one side?
You can't count nothing in a comparison.

I say you can count four cards on one side (at end of first season).
People I played with out voted me and said I had to count zero on one side.

Also,
one player tried to say some were on top and not l or r
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James R. Gracen
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zero is less than four.
6 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Darcy
Australia
Blue Mountains
New South Wales
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CavemanLogic wrote:
Zero is less than four.

+1
Do not play this Kodama if you have no appropriate branches on one side.

You know you have that Kodama from the beginning. You should plan your tree to maximise its benefit from the get-go.

I personally play that the L/R have to come from the side of the trunk card, but I have met others who split the card in half (virtually!) and play that Left/Right is either side of the centre line. This is something your group needs to agree on before play begins.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James R. Gracen
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GregDarcy wrote:
I personally play that the L/R have to come from the side of the trunk card, but I have met others who split the card in half (virtually!) and play that Left/Right is either side of the centre line. This is something your group needs to agree on before play begins.

The actual text on the card is...

Kodama card wrote:
Score 3 points for each card that can be traced back to the left side or right side of your trunk card, whichever is fewer.

Emphasis in bold is mine. So it does say left and right *side*, rather than left and right *half* of the card. I would be inclined to rule that you would only count the cards that trace back to the sides of your trunk card, not those that trace back to either half of the top of your trunk card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Bob742
msg tools
War is a Racket - Maj Gen Smedley Darlington Butler d
Avatar
mbmb
Ok. Fine to you all. yuk laugh
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Hebert
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What do you do in case of a tie?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Little
msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
haybear wrote:
What do you do in case of a tie?


You score either side.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.